Rocky the Rottweiler - Doberman in In My World

  • Feb. 16, 2014, 4:43 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

His name was Rocky. He was born on April 7th, 2010. His mother's name was Roxie and she was a good girl. He was a shelter pup along with all of his siblings. This was the day I met him: Rocky Rocky Rocky Rocky

And here's the day I brought him home (September 30): Rocky Rocky Rocky Rocky Rocky He slept in that bucket until he was too big for it. He loved it.

Fast forward a bit because I don't know where the pictures are... To younger than a year old: Rocky Rocky

Here's him at around a year old, only a couple moths later. He was play fighting with me, he didn't realize how big he was: Rocky Rocky

And more than 1 year, less than 2: Rocky Rocky

And here are pictures from the summer of 2013 r r r r r r r

This one is my favorite: Rocky

This is him and his best friend (my cousin's dog) Max Rocky

These are from October of 2013: Rocky Rocky Rocky

That was the first time I was ever able to put a bandanna on him because he liked to chew things up.

I wrote a little about him in my about me entry. He died on November 10, 2013. I was thinking about him a lot tonight so I wanted to write about him. I don't know what else to write so here is something I wrote on tumblr a few weeks ago. It just about sums up everything you need to know about him:

  • I don’t want to forget, I just would like the pain to go away.
  • He was afraid of water but he loved the rain.
  • We taught him to say “I love you” And I swear he would say “MoooOOOooom!”
  • He loved being outside, especially on the back porch.
  • He had the thickest, nastiest saliva…and loved to lick people. None of us really minded.
  • His favorite toy was this little red ball with devil horns and feet.
  • He managed to break the ring on his name tag and completely unbend it.
  • Once we got the new couch any chance he got to be in the living room he just wouldn’t stop running…he almost knocked over part of it one day.
  • He was afraid of water and would whimper during thunderstorms.
  • He’d bark at anyone but there aren’t many people that he didn’t like.
  • He was afraid of my uncle.
  • He’d sit on your feet if he couldn’t sit on your lap.
  • I trained him to sit on laps when he was little and he never grew out of it.
  • I got him his first collar last semester because I was afraid he was going to get loose and animal control would think he was a stray.
  • He didn’t like any cage that wasn’t his own.
  • I didn’t keep him in his cage on purpose, most times he just wanted to be there.
  • He was 3 years, 3 months, and 3 days old. (Which I didn’t realize until now)
  • I got him on September 30th. He was born August 7th.
  • He liked to chase cars…He was hit once but rolled out from under the car unscathed.
  • He liked to rip up socks and stuffed animals.
  • When he was really little he used to sleep in a big bucket beside my bed. He spent the first few weeks we had him sleeping almost constantly.
  • When we got Pork, He chased her around the house until she realized that he was afraid of her…and she started chasing him. It was hilarious.
  • He’d bark at anything but was a scaredy cat.
  • He broke 2 leashes and chewed through at least 5 harnesses. We switched to a chain collar after that.
  • He used to bite but he was growing out of it. He’d never draw blood.
  • He was finally starting to calm out of his “terrible two’s” stage.
  • He knew sit, down, and touch.
  • He was a smart dog.
  • He once ran into a wall because of a laser pointer. It was my fault.
  • He was a derpy dog, but he was also intuitive and smart.
  • He liked to chase squirrels. and don’t even get me started on the cats.
  • Out of 4 dogs, he would be the only one who only barked when someone was here. Or if another dog was. The other 3 bark at..EVERYTHING.
  • He never barked at Skye. He barked at everyone. Steven thought he hated him. Daryan was one of his favorites. She knew him from the time he was just 5 weeks old. We both did.
  • He was a cuddle bug, but he wanted everyone to think he was vicious.
  • The worst thing he would ever do was jump on someone.
  • We were working on that.
  • He loved tug-a-war.
  • He loved to play.
  • He’d jump on to my brothers bed which is less than 6 inches off the ground and then be afraid to jump back down.
  • He loved to cuddle.
  • He tried to eat my glasses once… he stole them off the table. I still have the same pair..and the scratches still make me laugh.
  • Red looked good on him.
  • He wore a happy Halloween bandanna at our Halloween party.
  • Everyone liked him. (I can’t think of anyone who didn’t)
  • Baylor was terrified of him until he realized that he was just a big baby.
  • He liked ice.
  • He liked anything you would feed him. Especially cheese.
  • He knew my grandmother was alpha, and would always listen to her.
  • He would always come when I called him even if he didn’t listen to anyone else.
  • He once buried his head in the snow and came out with it all over his face.
  • Texas barked at him every time he was around the house.
  • He had the derpiest tail.
  • He loved me. He loved me so much. He would wag his tail and smile at me every time he saw me come back through the door.
  • He would practically knock me over with love…and did a few times.
  • He some how managed to make this scratching sound on his cage bottom while laying on his side…I never figured out how he was doing it.
  • He would sleep on his back with all four legs in the air and the two back ones spread out…sometimes he even had his tongue sticking out. He would also sleep curled up in a little ball…or just laying on his side.
  • He loved going on walks but rarely got to leave the yard because he would chase cars.
  • On his last night he paced and paced until i came and sat on the floor near him. He layed down and rested his head on my legs. I didn’t realize how significant that was until now.

I miss him like crazy, but I'm not as sad as I used to be. I know that he would want me to be happy. I know that he would love all this snow that we've gotten. He's happy wherever he is, I know it. I know I'll see him some day.

I love my Rocky, and I want you all to know how great he was. ♥ He was my hero and my baby.


Jack February 16, 2014

beautiful dog hugs

Deleted user February 16, 2014

I am so sorry. I have fur babies and I worry about them all the time. hugs

The Diva of Dorks February 16, 2014

awwwww sweetie i'm so sorry...but i'm glad you have such wonderful memories of him

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.