RAD: Doctor D. in These Foolish Things

  • Feb. 11, 2019, 10:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Name: Doctor D….as in drawl, as in Southern Drawl, which he has.

Introduction Platform: Bumble. Still on there sporadically and checking in from time to time. He’d ‘extended’ my time, which is what the guy can do to give you 24 more hours to make initial contact (above and beyond the 24 hour timeframe the app normally gives you to say hello to a match). I thought that was nice of him. I thanked him for that.

Age: 55, soon to be 56

Relationship Status: Divorced for 9+ years. A couple of years out of a serious relationship. Three adult children (26, 25, 23)

Job: Anesthesiologist

Lives: About 10 minutes north of me. In the process of moving to one of those fancy new energy-efficient planned neighborhoods where all of the houses are sleek and modern, but they all look kinda the same. Looks kinda cool, but doesn’t 100% seem to match the southern drawl kind of thing.

Length of Date: 2 hours

We Did: He’d originally invited me to dinner at a super hip restaurant close to me that I’ve never been to and had always wanted to try, but then as he was confirming plans, he sent me an “oops” text and then asked me if he could call. I said sure and he explained that he’d gotten the evening (Sunday evening/night) mixed up with a meeting that he was supposed to have with his partners, so could we meet another time. We ended up agreeing to meeting at 4pm, after my gallery event earlier in the day and before his partner meeting. It worked out perfectly because it was just enough time to meet and greet and have a couple of glasses of wine (beer for him) and then go our separate ways.

He Looked: Better than his photos. 6’ tall and it was great because I was wearing tall boot with heels, blond/white hair, a bit of facial stubble, sport shirt, jeans and cowboy boots (!). He’s a casual dude, and normally I go for a more dapper look, his dress fit his personality 100%

I Looked: Came straight from a gallery event - leather leggings, tall boots, oversized jersey knit top embellished with pearls, fuzzy furry coat (cold outside!)

Convo: Flowed and flowed and flowed. Really enjoyed this guy - much more than I thought I would! He’s absolutely personable, super friendly, down-to-earth, not a bone of pretension, and funny (with the dad jokes and such, which I find weirdly charming coming from him). He asked a lot of great questions and made me feel right at home with him. I like this one.

High Point: Simply put, the good vibes I got from him. I had also excused myself to go to the bathroom at one point and I was thinking to myself, I hope he orders me one more glass of champagne. When I came back out of the restroom, there was another glass of bubbles just waiting for me!

Low Point: Was before the date. I’d googled him a bit and found his FB page and there are some kinda Trumpy posts. However, politics did NOT come up during our conversation, so there were no real low points

How It Ended: We both looked at our phones to see what time it was. Already 6pm! Time flew, but the timing was also perfect as I was feeling like this was the perfect amount of time for our first meeting and will make us both want to see each other again. We’d both valeted our cars, and he paid for my car and tip and gave me a couple of quick yet very sexy pecks on the lips and told me that I was a lot of fun.

Chances Are: Good. Though we didn’t make solid plans for seeing each other again, he did tell me that he couldn’t wait to see me again in a text.
Breaking News: His most recent text (just now): “Leather pants and high heeled boots for a first meeting. Not fair. And thank you [smiley face emoji]”

Date Rating: A. It was a very, very nice first date. Couldn’t have gone better.


Last updated February 11, 2019


Florentine February 11, 2019

Woo! A great way to end a weekend. (And fingers crossed that he's not as Trump-y as the googling would suggest!)

Ginger Snap Florentine ⋅ February 11, 2019

Yes, it was a very nice cap! I think he's just trying to figure out where I stand and if I'm crazy :)

kashka February 11, 2019

OOohhhh! This is exciting. And I love the flirty sexy flattering text about your outfit!!

Ginger Snap kashka ⋅ February 11, 2019

YES! It was a good one!

Athena February 11, 2019

I love him!

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ February 11, 2019

Aw! Thanks for saying so! :)

plushcreep February 11, 2019

Now THIS sounds promising! (And he's right. Not fair. In the best way possible.)

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ February 11, 2019

Yeah, I'm pretty pumped about it.

Marg February 11, 2019

Oh this sounds promising!

Ginger Snap Marg ⋅ February 11, 2019

YES! I sure hope so!

Gangleri February 11, 2019

How tall are you?

Ginger Snap Gangleri ⋅ February 11, 2019

I'm 5'8" and a true 6' tall guy is just about right for me :)

drawnwell February 11, 2019

Hmmmm... trumpy but can keep his mouth shut in polite company?... interesting.

drawnwell February 11, 2019

Extra points for a flirty complimentary text...

Ginger Snap drawnwell ⋅ February 11, 2019

Agree! Was really nice to see this morning!

Fred February 11, 2019

Very promising. Except for the Trump part....

Ginger Snap Fred ⋅ February 11, 2019

Right? We have yet to find out about that part. I think he wants to learn as much as he can about me in a very 'neutral' way, you know? It's smart of him...and it will help me too.

Deleted user February 12, 2019

Encouraging !

Deleted user June 17, 2019

excellent

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.