Free Player in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Feb. 8, 2019, 12:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was wondering if/when the time would come that someone from the football team would approach me and ask me to consider playing for this season. Well, it happened and it happened yesterday evening. I do know that the day before was their contract signing day, so maybe they got a realistic idea of roster numbers that night. They’ve been practicing since the first week of January, so I thought maybe I was in the clear from being approached since they are well into the season’s practices.

So, I told the person who messaged me (the newest owner in the shuffling of owners) that I couldn’t financially swing the players dues this year. (I could, but.....no.) Thinking that they’d leave me alone after I told them they were getting $0 from me this season, I didn’t expect a response. Instead, she responded and said she was pretty sure she could find me a sponsor to cover all of my dues. What? No one sponsors a woman football player they don’t personally know. I asked her who the sponsor would be. She said she has a handful of people who want to sponsor veteran players anonymously. I’m not sure I believe that. It sounds like she’s getting desperate to have a team and will allow people to play for free just to get the numbers needed to have a roster.

So I told I would have to take some time to think about it (like all of February lol). I do know for a FACT that you couldn’t PAY me to show up to practice in this chilly weather. And we’re due for the beginning of a winter storm in a few hours. I keep looking out of my window at work for the first signs of snowflakes. My mind would be super okay with leaving work early today. All of the school districts are releasing their students 2 hours early.

I did talk my date into 2 hours at the trampoline park on Sunday, but I think we both might be snowed in. I have my monthly therapy appt on Monday evening, so I’m hoping the roads will be good enough by then. I don’t care about missing work during the day though hahahah.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.