Maths in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Feb. 6, 2019, 1:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Do you ever sit yourself down and have a serious conversation with yourself regarding whether there is ever a time that it would be OK to quit your job without having another immediately lined up?

Some days are not so bad, but other days, like yesterday, its awful. I couldn’t even focus at kickboxing after work. I couldn’t fall asleep last night because I couldn’t get my mind off work and how amazing it would feel to just not come back. To make my boss realize once and for all how much I actually DO and how much of a loss he’d be at if I left.

I’m continuing the job hunt. I searched awhile yesterday, but didn’t find anything worth interviewing for. I wouldn’t be as selective if I was currently without a job, but since I’m still employed, I’m being a little selective.

So this is my math: If I were to quit today, I’d be paid for 538.42 hours. 80 hours for the last payroll period (we get paid on a 2 week delay), 24 hours for this week, and 434.42 hours of saved PTO. Combine that with what I currently have in savings and I’d be OK for a little bit before I’d need to start freaking out.

But everytime I get “gutsy” enough to actually want to it, I talk myself out of it. I bought some books last night for confidence building and interviewing skills. Figured it can’t hurt.

This entry was mainly to just sort through my thoughts. Don’t feel obligated to comment. Not asking for suggestions particularly as I know I’m going to get a lot of “don’t quit until you have another job” comments. But I suppose if you HAVE quit your job before having another one lined up, I’d like to hear how it went for you.

Also, don’t tell my family I have that much PTO.


Last updated February 06, 2019


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.