Lost my best friend Cleopatra. in Pridesafiordilabbra

  • Feb. 15, 2014, 6:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Wednesday February 5th I lost my best friend. My great dane Cleo. I had a feeling things were coming to an end but didn't think it would be so fast.

Started withe her having a seizure the day before thanksgiving. She was a bit wobbly for 2 days but was great fatter that. We think she had a second one not to far after Christmas again she came threw that after 72 hours.

Last Tuesday she was fine ate her dinner and slept the rest of the night like usual. Wednesday morning it was clear she wasn't feeling, threw up a few times but only white yuck. Vet recommended pepcid so we gave her that and let her sleep. Two hours later she was worse off. She went out to pee and collapsed. Took everything in her to get up and back inside. We then took her right to the vet but whole Cleo and I were outside waiting for my mom to get the truck close to the house cleo collapsed again and couldnt get up.. There were only two of us to get her in the truck. By the time we got to the vets it took 4 of us to get her out of the truck.

The ride to the vets was hard as I knew it was the end she was 9 1/2 years old and 160 pounds. There was no way we would be able to get her outside to pee if she couldn't walk. vet checked her over and found her liver was very large and very hard. I made the decision to have her PTS before she got worse. She ended up collapsing a third time at the vet. Cleo was sedated and began having mini seizures they would last about 5 seconds and she would get about 15-20 seconds of no seizure. .

This last week without her has been so hard.

My poor nephew didn't want to go to his mothers last Wednesday so he could take care of Cleo. It was so hard telling him Friday that Cleo was no longer with us. He asked if memere was in heaven taking care of her. And why did the vet have to take her..

Yesterday he wanted to know if memere was really taking care of her. If she wasn't could she send her back so he could take care of her. And if Cleo couldn't come back would she be mad if we got another dog.

It has been so hard walking into the living room and not seeing her on her queen sized futon mattress.

I know for a great dane 9 1/2 is wonderful but it was so sudden.

With skippy I had time to process, two weeks to love on him let him have as many treats and grass that he wanted. I had 2 weeks to say my goodbyes. 45 minutes to say goodbye to Cleo was not enough.


Darcy0207 from OD February 15, 2014

I am so sorry for your loss. I have had various cats and dogs over the years. It's painful each time... more painful with some. For what it's worth, my animals (mostly the dogs) come to me in my dreams. Maybe you'll have a chance for that also.

The Diva of Dorks February 15, 2014

saw you on the front page...i am so very sorry for your loss. i've lost several animal companions myself, i feel what you're going through.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.