No fire damage today. (D&D) in 1D4+1

  • Jan. 28, 2019, 4:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So apparently there is a bar at the Guild in which you get assignments and stuff. Instead of from the head of the Guild, seems strange to me. When we went to the head guy he just seemed irritated that we were there. Hey we are new we don’t know any better. We went to the chapel on site it’s military style cause you know merc guild and all, dedicated to Heriunous (sp?). We talked to the priest there about the goings on in Beatrix and Inkabulas (sp?) .... they knew nothing. What a waste. Went to the bar where we found that the barkeep gives out assignments and pays for them. We made 40 gold each for the kills and though Wren just wanted to find another assignment with goblins I told him about what had transpired.... and asked if he liked my hat. Didn’t seem to care about the hat much and a messenger from Beatrix had come in while we were standing there. New assignment is to “fix” Beatrix.

Lothar (Low-thar) a dwarf who really helped us kick butt....ahead of myself....

So anyways we went to Beatrix where everyone in town.... namely Oswald and Ronald wanted to blame us for something we had no idea was happening in the 2 days since we left. They assumed that because we had killed the other guys this was happening? They thought we did something?.... Now at night there were undead creatures wandering about. We went to check it out and killed some undead goblins.... or more so used them for target practice while Lothar killed them.

We found some ruins that Lothar seemed to think was a good place. I think his perception was off. Looking around we found a round room with a large bowl in it. While checking for traps I was extremely distracted by the rocks themselves but Ren found some kinda thing and Lothar jumped on it trying to make it give. It appeared there was a separation in a set of stairs. Ren noticed that the bowl in the middle of the room had been recently used. Thinking it must have meant it was a new bowl I went to inspect it with her. I was looking for any jewels or if there was any gold I could harvest for later.... to no luck.

Wren added water to the bowl and it moved some. Then Lothar went back up the trail and grabbed a dead … undead goblin and brought it back. Putting what remained of his body in the bowl. It started moving real good then and that place where Lothar had been jumping became a staircase going down. We went through real quiet because the air itself was dark. There were lighted torches in the hallway but they didn’t illuminate much.

We moved quietly down the hallway, Lothar not so much. We ended up fighting 4 more undead goblins and 2 more of the Ooze orge things we had seen last time. The goblins have got to be dumber than me because they tripped over each other. One of the Ooze orges used a goblin to throw at me! Was pretty neat but we killed them all anyways. Again I looked for loot except in the Ooze orges. Nothing.... no luck today i tell ya.

We made it to the end of a long hallway and as we walked up to a room Wren noticed some writing on the floor. She carefully jumped over it and I followed suit. The dwarf however, not being a good jumper, didn’t even try to jump and ended up cussing before freezing in place. We could hardly see 10ft even with our dark vision. I think the darkness was of a magical sort.

The room had long book shelves on each side, filled with books. Wren took a book and flung it into the darkness. I have no idea why she would throw a book but my guess is she forgot to light in on fire first. I took a arrow and lit it on fire and shot it into the darkness but right as I was aiming the darkness cleared. We saw a purple robed man who we assumed was a sorcerer of sorts due to the fact that there was a big swirling portal behind him. Vines reached up from the ground holding us in place. I shot at the guy a couple times and missed every time. He jumped into the portal and disappeared. Seconds later I saw my mother, she put her hand on my shoulder, then ran a finger down my cheek, then she slapped me and vanished. Oswald appeared, looked confused and vanished. Lasting an old hag appeared and we killed her. Which somehow released the vines. When the room was cleared we looked around. I took a book, can’t read it, just took it. Lothar suggested burning the books. Wren didn’t want to so as a middle ground I took a torch to one set of shelves. It burned quickly and was reduced to ash before we left the room.

Went back to Oswald, who still thinks it was our fault. Ronald was at the bar .... I asked if he was partaking is the sacramental wine. He seemed annoyed. We decided that staying the night was a good idea this time. That way if anything else happens maybe they wont’ blame us.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.