Survey... because that's what you're getting in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • Jan. 28, 2019, 3:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

What are some of your favorite cities you’ve been to?
Graz, Austria. Seattle, Washington. Vancouver, British Columbia.

Would you allow your children to date prior to 16?
Define date. Would I allow my child to be involved, romantically, with another individual… yeah. But would I be cool if my 13 year old girl was out, solo with a boy, going to the movies… not as much.

Did you ever go through a phase where you thought guys in bands were ‘hot?’
No, but I will confess that I will always find a woman with a talent hot. If she can sing, dance, perform martial arts, rock the Cosplay, act, play an instrument well… talent is like a wine being paired with a meal… it can just make the meal so much better than one could have expected.

What’s something about adult life you were never warned of or prepared for?
That it would never, truly, be as busy as High School was while simultaneously it would never, truly, be as socially fulfilling as High School was. I was scheduled tightly between swimming, school, orchestra, mime, thespians, play rehearsals, and all my other extra curriculars. And while I didn’t exactly have “a hundred friends” it was certainly a thousand times easier to interact with friends socially in High School.

Did your parents teach you proper table manners when you were growing up?
Extraordinarily proper table manners. Where does the bread plate go in relation to the salad plate and the dessert plate; how does one set a place setting for a 6 course meal; what is the appropriate way to pour wine for a guest; all of it.

What was the last thing you baked?
It’s been ages. I think I baked cookies or some such in Law School.

Do you live more than 5 hours away from the nearest international border?
Most certainly. Even if I were to drive directly north for five hours, I’d wind up in McGregor, Minnesota. Which would then put me about 2.5 hours away from the Canadian Border.

Does your town have a farmer’s market?
Yes, but I’ve not been to it.

What’s the westernmost point you’ve been to?
Challenging Question as it would entirely depend upon a person’s experience with cartography. If we demand the use of a Rand McNally flat wall map, and assume that Westernmost is Alaska and Eastern Most is Russia, I’d have to say California, BC, or Washington State. However, since that which is to our east is just as likely to our west from the other direction, an argument could be made that the westernmost point I’ve been is is any point that is closer to me by going west than it would be by going east; or does that hypothesis fall apart?

What was the last restaurant you made a reservation at?
Wow! It’s been so long, I honestly can’t remember

When did you last feel lonely?
Today

Can you easily tell when others are masking their true emotions?
Sometimes. I’m hit or miss on this

How often do you wash your car?
Maybe twice a year.

When did you last lend money to a friend?
I don’t often do this, largely because we don’t have the kind of friends who would ask us for money

Which app on your phone do you tend to get the most notifications from?
Blimey! I’d say it is most definitely one of my game aps.

Do you own a Dutch oven? If so, what was the last thing you cooked in it?
We own one, we’ve never used it

Do you find it easy to put yourself in somebody else’s shoes?
More often than not. I at least try to look at any argument and experience from multiple angles

What is currently on your kitchen table?
Technically, we don’t have one. We have a breakfast nook which is just my wife’s laptop

What is your favourite time period in history to learn about?
Normally, the Sengoku Period and Edo Period of Japan. So 1467-1868

How old were you when you met your current best friend?
I was 27

Have you ever kissed a smoker?
Not romantically; but yes

What is the minimum age to obtain a driver’s license in your state/country?
16, though learners permits and various other exceptions are available

Do you think this is an appropriate age, or should it be higher/lower?
I’m ambivalent about the whole thing. I think that the Driver’s Ed system in the state is broken and stupid; but I don’t think age or maturity is a deciding factor in how skillful one is or is not

If you won the lottery, do you think any of your family members would ask you to give them some of your money?
Perhaps. My father’s side certainly would not; but my mother’s side might

What is the craziest thing you’ve seen happen at your workplace?
The stories from my previous workplaces are the things of Legend. See Also: Department of Corrections

Do you own any home automation gadgets like wifi thermostats or wifi bulbs?
I own a garage door opener.

What is something you gave up on after many failed attempts?
Acting Career, being artistic in any way, a healthy romantic relationship with someone my own age or younger

How old were you when you started to seriously think about what career path you wanted to pursue?
I was trying to plan a career path as early as 5 years old. I wanted to be an actor or an attorney; because they both “got their stage” and were only required to “use their heads and their mouths” to do their job.

Have you ever disliked a book so much that you didn’t finish it?
Rarely but it has happened on occassion

Would you rather read a book, or listen to the audiobook?
I’m awful about reading these days; but I’d still say reading. I prefer to sit quietly, in a book, and just lose time.

Do you think tomorrow will be a better day than today?
In many ways, yes. In some ways, no. But the fact that I can say that means I am in a much better place than I have been over the last few years.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.