Project day part 2 in Second 1st

  • Dec. 11, 2018, 3:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

1) The gate to our fence- Decided just to take it down for now because Rocky and David had a quick conversation about cutting the pole with a hacksaw.... however we do not have a new pole just yet. Still looks crappy so it’s coming down.... and now it’s leaning on the wall of the outside of the good shed.

2) Headlights- turns out that the reason I don’t see well with mine is a number of reasons a) there is too much condensation on the inside … causing frost this morning b) they just aren’t bright and we should replace the bulbs themselves with LED bulbs c) never mind going to have to replace the whole unit because on the left the brackets that hold the light to the actual car are broken so the light itself is pointed at the ground in front.... NO WONDER!!!

3) Outside light- The side light has been replaced! In the process we realized that there are 3 switches and we only know where 2 go.... there are more outside lights! There are 2 more lights! the aren’t functioning (and haven’t since before we moved in!). We bought some bulbs to test them with because they have the same kind that are in our new fixture.

4) Handles- Door handles are not only on but all the doors (even ones we didn’t have new handles for) close… not just shut but actually latch.

5) DISHWASHER- Took a look at the dishwasher. Watched a couple YouTube vids and did a test using a piece on paper. I have to order a part but the part is like 15 bucks. David said if I could get it before Christmas he will fix it then.

6) Attic boards - Didn’t get to this one. We talked about it and I’ve made a promise to pick up a few boards between now and Christmas or the next project day.

7) Tub - The caulk was for around the top of the tub. Mom and I cleaned it and realized we had the wrong stuff for that too. Rocky just finished fixing it.

It for sure worked out divide and conquer. Mom and I had the tub caulking cleaned up while David and Rocky looked at the car. Mom and I did the handles while they got the light fixture. I didn’t expect them to do all outside and us girls do inside because if feels a little sexist but it is how it happened and moved along. When mom and I were finished with the handles we went outside and found that they had just finished with the light. Then we hit the fence. We did drill a hole in one of the posts to put a coupling on it but mom lost the nut to the bolt and the screw wasn’t long enough anyways.

We Tried to go to Olive Garden for lunch but it was uncomfortably crowded so we opted for Fazoli’s. I ate way more sodium than I should have but I was super light (110) on breakfast and I expect to be super light dinner (150-300) so I didn’t think much of a pretty high lunch. I am sure I’ll still feel it as I had 4 bread sticks with their garlic butter goodness.

There was a small list of things to buy at WM in order to finish/do the jobs .... we needed fluids for vehicles, light bulbs, wood putty, caulk, hacksaw and a replacement bolt for the coupling. I’ve been told to make a new list and an appointment to do it again in a month.

I’ve got another entry about the feels for today but we are going to head out to a small store that has appliance parts to see if they might have the part we need for the dishwasher! I’ll write it when we get back.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.