08 WC in 500 Writing Challenge

  • Dec. 1, 2018, 3:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Plan a “murder mystery” dinner party. Create the dinner menu and the guest list, and design the murder plot.

ROTFLMFAO!!!

I am SO going to do this Rez-style. I am already crying from laughing so hard.

NOTE/DISCLAIMER: This is MY viewpoint from my own observations and experiences, that’s all. This is a fictional murder.

Also, it says just the “PLOT”, so, that’s all I’m going to write.

The Menu.

Corn soup.
Frybread.
Tomatoes, lettuce, onions, shredded cheese, and condiments for “indian tacos”.
Canned fruit cocktail, peaches, and pears.
Coffee and Kool-Aid.

(These are the main choices that feed large crowds, along with being cost-efficient, and/or are provided in the commodities given to the tribe. Commods are “about-expired” food items sent by the government. Tends to keep us humble.)

Jess - 2nd bestie.
Kit - Girlfriend of Kay, one of my besties.
Kay - Kit’s girlfriend, another bestie.
Sexy - 3rd bestie.
BL - My stalker “Lite”.

Its our annual Christmas party. We all show up to Jess’ house and do our parts. BL is finishing up the soup, Jess is getting the frybread out. Kit and Kay and getting the presents arranged, and I…of course…am visiting with Sexy while we make our holiday drinks.

There are little snippets of conversation tossed back and forth between all the multi-tasking. Finally, everyone sits down at the table to enjoy the dinner and drinks.

After a few hours of conversation and drinks, BL begins to talk to me in a loud and snippy voice. He asks me why I won’t ever consider dating him, then goes on to berate me for being “superficial” and “an all-round bitch”. Before I can reply, Jess tells him to shut up and also tells him that he will not be allowed to stay if he continues being inappropriate. While I sip my drink, feeling the warmth spread through my body, BL argues with Jess, with Kit and Kay all jumping in, defending each other until its one loud shouting match.

“HEY!!!” Everyone turns to look at me. “It’s our party! Why are we all arguing? What about going out to dance?”

I think the booze is already starting to sink in to my friends. But, we all get up and get ready.

It’s time to head out to go dancing. We all get ready to leave Jess’ house when we realize Kay isn’t with us. We all call out for her, and hear BL holler.

We find Kay in the back room, dead. We all look at each other, and I lean down to check for a pulse. I find nothing.

There are no stab wounds, no blood. The only thing we find is foam and vomit.


I honestly have no idea how to write one of those “murder mystery” deals. I did a little research…well, I skimmed over a couple pages I googled. They look like they take a LOT of work!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.