The Dream (part 1) in Poetry

  • Nov. 10, 2018, 1:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can see the light
Slowly fade into darkness
I’ve chosen to drift away
From a world that
Blinded the image of
Who I am
And as I begin to decay
My mind becomes astray

I’ve chosen to fall apart
In a dream
I thought I would never be
I heard a voice
Crawling through
The silence of my mind
And the thoughts
Echo on and on
Replaying forgotten memories
I cannot escape
So the horrors plague my mind
Time after time

A black widow takes me in
The venom soaks inside
Words I can never find
I’m poisoned with pain
And I feel
If I want to save my life
I must outline my face
With a knife
And peel it off
So you can see the scars
That is forever inside of me

I’ll be okay
Or that’s what they say
Please leave me here
In this dream
For I wish to die
In my tears of
No love or hope
Because I’ve disconnected myself
From the only person
I was
And I can no longer see
The pain inside
My crystalized blue eyes


Last updated November 14, 2018


DevilishlyInnocent November 10, 2018

Makes me think of falling apart in alone time, wanting people to see how much you hurt behind the mask and just feeling like giving up.
That's how I took it, anyways. But, I'm weird.

Raphael Tiriel DevilishlyInnocent ⋅ November 25, 2018

No, you are not weird--I own that :). You are exactly right in so many ways--what I mean is in all the ways that I interpret this poem.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.