He was right :( in Second 1st

  • Nov. 4, 2018, 5:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Tuesday we had gone to get groceries. Sammy went with and selected some things. He requested Chicken and Shrimp. He has no sense of cost or value. We got what he requested making note that I had bought some chicken the day before and that I planned on using some for the Chicken Noodle soup I made Wednesday but he was free to use the rest. He cooked up 1 Chicken breast Wednesday night and had reserved the other 2 for when his avocados were ripe....I just checked. He had bought 4 of those, they are ripe and he’s already eaten 2.

Rocky argues that I am too liberal with money when it comes to his groceries. That I should not let him get what he wants but get him food and him eat it. I have disagreed because if I were Sammy and had nothing but microwave foods I’d get really sick of that in 4 years. However, I’m not feeling appreciation for what we are doing for him in the wasting of food that’s he’s doing.

He says he wants to do “meal prep” and lines up ideas.... gets what he needs and then doesn’t follow through. I have fought for him with Rocky because he is a child. He still has no idea when things go bad.

He had posted on the whiteboard yesterday for me to not worry about dishes .... they were piled. That he would get them when he got up. This bothered me at first because he noticed they needed to be done but still did not actually do them. I then because angry at myself for the thought. I just need to LET him help? I found a few moments in my morning either way and I took care of the dishes that were dry and organized the pile. I then wrote a note about how if the Chicken wasn’t cooked TODAY it was going to be THROWN OUT. He did not cook the chicken. He was not home when I got here so I gave him the night as well.

This morning I got up @3:30. Partially because of the time change and partially because I know he didn’t cook the chicken. Now there is a super long whiteboard note from me:

After 3 days Chicken starts to get a yellow tint. After 5 it gets slimy. Knowing now that you apparently did not previously know this (prior to living here) I want to cut you some slack and continue to buy you what you say you want. The chicken going uncooked is an argumentative point for Rocky who doesn’t think I should be so liberal with food money. When it gets trashed that’s money we could have saved. We don’t store rotten food here. Please stop creating it. The Chicken has been baked (got up early to do that before work) with nothing on it. It will be good for another 3 days then there is no saving it.

It’s a lot to read but it says what it needs to. I did not sign it because it’s more than obvious who wrote it. The chicken just came out of the oven and it’s got an hour to cool and be put away.

Luckily the more expensive portions of his ‘meal prep’ are being eaten or in the freezer (avocados and shrimp). Either way I will have to have to talk with Rocky about how he was right for jumping Sammy’s case at Walmart..... I’m not happy about that for sure.


Down the rabbit hole... November 04, 2018

Why not make him go shopping with you and give him a set amount that he is allowed to spend so that he learns the value?

JHkerriokey Down the rabbit hole... ⋅ November 04, 2018

We did that the first time. Gave him $30. Same thing happened. i think it's more his sense of time maybe?

Down the rabbit hole... JHkerriokey ⋅ November 04, 2018

Maybe but it sounds like he's been babied... I mean by college I'd been cooking for myself and my family for years. Has he found another job yet?

JHkerriokey Down the rabbit hole... ⋅ November 05, 2018

That's why I say he's been taken care of but not raised. No but we had a talk about it. His car is paid up till Feb. As long as he's not asking us for money for gas and stuff I can't get too upset. Doesn't stop me from asking him about it every chance I get though.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.