After Patrick …. in My things ……

  • Feb. 9, 2014, 5:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The wait is over, you my ask what wait, many who have watched ‘The Sky at Night’ over several decades were a little concerned about the programmes future with the passing of Sir Patrick Moore. Though 2013 the programme toured the country once Patrick’s home wasn’t available, I thought those programme’s a bit up together on the hoof, those came to an end in December 2013; and news of a new series in February.

The new programme began tonight, the new programme began with ‘At the Castle Gate’ from ‘Pelleas et Malisande’ by Sibelius, the theme music chosen by Patrick Moore in 1957. The opening graphic’s have up dated in a careful style, the look of the was good. From the resent programmes presenters Chris Lintott and Pete Lawrence are retained, and Maggie Aderin-Pocock taking on Sir Patrick Moore’s empty place.

I’m delighted to say I enjoyed this first programme, it wasn’t based in a studio but filmed at the ‘Royal Observatory, Greenwich’ The main item was Jupiter, which if you live in the northern hemisphere, you can go out and look up; the brightest thing in the sky! If you now anything of the night sky it is in the constellation Gemini. I hope others are as happy with the newly refreshed ‘Sky at Night’ as I am ……


Sabrina-Belle February 09, 2014

I hadn't realised it was on, must catch it on the Iplayer. I loved Patrick Moore. We used to live quite near him when we were in Sussex and Mum and I once went to a talk he gave in Chichester.

NorthernSeeker February 09, 2014

I was wondering what the bright "star" was. I was guessing Saturn, which I have seen in a telescope.

Roseyrays February 10, 2014

TruNorth February 10, 2014

Would be interested in seeing the new program. I wonder if we can access it in Canada?

Marg February 10, 2014

Oh I always thought it was Venus - shows how much I know!

jamez Marg ⋅ February 11, 2014

RYNote. You will never see Venus up at the zenith like Jupiter, the planets that are further from the sun than the Earth can cross the sky at any height, Venus and Mercury being closer to the sun than us are limited as to how high they can get in Earths sky; and are most easily seen just after sunset and sunrise.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.