ADHD please help me lol in 2018

  • Oct. 12, 2018, 5:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the last entry that I also just finished writing five minutes ago, I forgot to mention that we are having a little bit of trouble with Evelyn now.

We’ve struggled with Miley’s reading and writing for the past few years, they noticed in senior kindergarten, That she wasn’t quite up to the provincial standard in literacy. Now, protocol says that they have to wait until the third grade to pursue further help/testing to figure out what’s going on, and what kind of learning disability and it is. Fast forward a few years later, and she’s getting straight A’s and B’s on her report card in every subject. Mind you she has an IEP in literacy, meaning she is still doing her grade 3 work, with help such as talk to text, and having the computer ready for her. I know that a lot of people are against that, and even Chris had his reservations… But what they’re trying to do is keep her at the grade 3 level as far as knowledge goes, but make the reading and writing bit easier for her until we can find out how it is she learns… And then tackle that when the time comes.

That was last year, and her teachers were blown away at the improvement just because the road block of having to write things out wasn’t there. She’s much more able to read that she ever was, but she still struggles with spelling. I couldn’t believe her report card it was phenomenal.

This year she’s in grade 4, and I believe she’s doing fine. Now Evelyn is starting to show difficulties with concentration/focus/attention. The school has called home and we are trying to set up an appointment with the Family Services place here in town, and maybe try to get her an occupational therapist to help her figure out why she so distracted. I also have to make an appointment with the paediatrician to talk more on that subject. When I’m sitting with her one on one she’s fine Fully focused, she can do what I ask with very little help as far as staying focussed goes. Her teacher has noticed the same thing, when she sits with her one on one she does the work she needs to do. But if she’s left to her own devices, she very quickly forgets what she supposed to be doing or gets distracted and then ends up doing nothing.

We are both seeing signs of ADHD in her, so if anybody else has children that suffer from ADHD feel free to sound off in the comments and give a fellow mother a little advice please. So I have one kid that has a learning disability as far as reading and writing goes, the other kid has attention deficit problem, I have hypothyroidism, and my husband is still suffering from a concussion he got over two years ago… Things are just great LOL. I suppose they could be worse so I’ll shut up and just deal with what I’ve been given.

Kristen <3

PS if you read this I’ve already done another entry today that touches on the fact that I just discovered I have Hyperthyroidism… And I’d also like some advice on that so hit me up.


Mr. Mofo October 12, 2018

If I had youth to do over again, I would make sure I was allowed to dance my ass off every morning so I could atleast TRY to concentrate better.

Keep your pB people informed on this.

Take care.

Hotaru October 12, 2018

I don’t really have any advice to offer, but I hope you can get things sorted out for her.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.