Follow-up Friends First in Random Public Stuffs

  • Sept. 23, 2018, 5:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

(Walks into the kitchen to grab a fresh glass of water, then giggling as I read the comments on my previous entry.)

BFF: What’s funny?

Me: I wrote an entry about you being a priority over men I have dated and I got some funny notes.

He laughed at me. He just told me to get some rest because I “can’t change stupid people”.

We are very opposite. I am the social butterfly, and he says I am still “innocent” when it comes to the intentions of other people. He is the homebody who hates most people and prefers the animals.

His lady is actually pretty cool.

I had part of an entry written up…but as I watched him move stuff around, I was just overwhelmed with absolute happiness…then sadness.

I pity those people who will never have what I have.

I have 28 years of absolute loyalty. He has helped me after surgeries. He helped me pick out a headstone for my first son who was stillborn. He was there to help me move after my first divorce. He took me to prenatals when I got too big to drive. He fell in love with our son and said he may not have provided the DNA, but he says our son is his. We are currently saving up for the formal adoption.

I was there for his marriage and divorce (she cheated), I helped him move. I met his mom, she loved me, then she passed away and I went with him to go shopping for funeral attire and I was with him through the service. I help when he needs it, and I do what I can to keep him comfortable.

I think of all the married people I know, and I think of all the complaints. BFF has done more as my BFF than husbands have or ever will.

If that is what married life is? I am not missing anything. LOL

I have learned at my 38 years of age that its important to enjoy my life. Society says I should be married with 2.5 children with an insane mortgage and two SUVs. Nope. I am better than that.

I still have about 2/5ths of a bucket list to finish.

So. Do as you will. As long as you are happy, you go!

Myself, I am happy with my BFF and working on bettering myself.


Steph September 23, 2018

Nah I'm pretty much the opposite of closed minded. The comment didn't make sense to me (which was hyperbole btw as I am not an idiot) because I said plainly in the note, settling down IF IT'S WHAT YOU WANTED. It would be difficult with your "rules." That is all. I could not care less what anyone does. You're the one getting uppity at a someone stating a different opinion.

Attempting to make me feel stupid for not getting your comment, when "other people understood" Funny.

You and your boyfriend are kinda perfect for each other, both extremely smug lol. I could ask anyone in MY circle about the stuff you wrote and would receive the same eye rolls.

It's smug to think "you're better than that" Better than who, or what, exactly? So not conforming to societal norms makes you better? Your friend, whether you have a marriage paper or not, is filling some type of void. You sound quite dependent on him and I'm not even stating that as a bad thing, just how it seems. You couldn't drive to doctor's appts as you were too big? I gained tons of weight with my pregnancies on top of being pretty big already, had SPD and toward the end, high blood pressure and could always drive. I mean...It's ok to want people in your life, to have them fill a place. It's ok.

It's smug to think because there were different opinions to your own, that we are stupid.

And don't feel sorry for me because I have that, in my husband. In my friends. In my family. And it's not any less important than your amazing relationship because we were boring enough to obtain that piece of paper.

My intention with my note was to show you that friends and spouses don't have to compete with each other. There was really no close mindedness or hate. You however, escalated it into negative territory.

DevilishlyInnocent Steph ⋅ September 23, 2018

LMAO!! That is horrible that you feel like I was trying to make you feel stupid.
Makes me wonder what your mindset is to feel the need to leave such a long note with an indignant tone.

When I say "better than", I mean that I don't fall prey to the norms. I don't know how to be any more direct than that.

Annnnnd...you had to go into "typical female" mode and try to one-up. LOL

Look, you can go ahead and type out another reply...when I hit a nerve, I always get the females jumping on my notes. Its routine for me. I know typical females have to have the last word and go full petty mode. Its the equivalent of a bratty girl who stomps her foot, screams, then whirls around, snapping her hair.

So, get it out of your system. Your reaction was not surprising. Its behavior like that which proves the stereotypes about a majority of females to be true.

And again, have a good one!

Steph DevilishlyInnocent ⋅ September 24, 2018

Haha I had the disclaimer in my note that I was long winded in general and it wasn't anything special you said because o felt like you were that kind of person. I never read past your first sentence so have a great day and keep being you because its obviously a super happy place lol

Bye dear.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.