11 curly days in Curly Girl

  • Sept. 20, 2018, 6:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

*Disclaimer: This whole entry will be about my hair, as I’m tracking my progress with a new method. So feel free to skip it if that’s not your cup of tea. :) That being said, if you have naturally curly hair and you aren’t sure what to do with it, feel free to read on and learn through my mistakes, as I’ve been learning so much and am beginning to love my curly hair for the first time in my life.

Honestly- I even bore myself when I look back through my previous entries in this book sometimes. But it is good to keep track to see what’s worked and what hasn’t for future reference, as I plan to keep this up indefinitely. And it isn’t boring while I write it. Just when I look back over them later.

Today is day 11 of my “curly girl method” adventure.

11 days of no brushes or combs. No hair dryers, curling irons, or flat irons. No sulfates or silicone products.

Honestly it’s going pretty well. I’ve had a few really bad hair days, but with a few really awesome hair days thrown in the mix as well. The worst days always seem to be Mondays when I have to be at the office. Which is also the worst day to have crazy hair since I see a lot of my business partners and they’re probably wondering what’s wrong with me. Ha! I’m beginning to care a lot less. And I also have a new game plan to shoot for a better look this Monday.

So far the biggest trial and error has been with the styling products and drying. Because the key to keeping my hair from being a frizzy mess is to lock the curls in with conditioners and styling products. And when you put styling products on wet hair, it takes forever to air dry it.

I dropped $16 bucks on a tube of DevaCurl Wave Maker cream for my hair. Because in my research, a ton of girls with wavy hair are just raving about it.

Well that was a mistake. Me assuming my hair was only wavy was also a mistake. I didn’t realize that those Shirley Temple ringlets from my childhood were still hiding under all the abuse. The Wave Maker just isn’t enough to control these babies. I might like it if I’m at the beach or something and going for a more unkempt look, so I’m not going to totally give up on it, but it’s definitely not something that will work for me on the daily.

I’m so tempted to post before and after pictures of my progress, but I’m also still a little terrified to post pictures of myself on this site. Maybe if anyone really wants to see them I’ll make a friends only entry and post a couple.

What’s hilarious is I dropped $16 on the Wave Maker, which doesn’t work, and the product that has worked the best so far for styling is a $3 huge bottle of LA Looks sport gel. Lol!

Talking to different people about this adventure, I’ve had some people tell me they hate hair gel because it leaves their hair crunchy. I always thought that too, until I started researching this method of caring for curls. The crunch is a good thing while your hair is drying. It’s called a gel cast, and it tames the frizz by trapping the moisture in, and holds the curl in place so it doesn’t frizz up and fall as soon as the moisture evaporates.
As soon as your hair is fully dry, you just scrunch all of your hair with a dry t-shirt or your hands. After that, your hair is soft and touchable, instead of the “wet, crunchy” look that most of us associate with hair gel. Learning this has changed my life! Lmao.

So I’ve accumulated a few products that I’m loving. As I Am co-wash. It smells so good. It’s a conditioner-based cleanser instead of your typical shampoo. I’m still using the Not Your Mother’s Naturals line for a regular shampoo (sulfate-free!), but I only plan to use that once or twice a week to do a deep cleaning. The co-wash cleans your hair without stripping the moisture out like a traditional shampoo would, since us curlies typically have much drier hair.

Using the same brand of conditioner, and I’ve added 2 Shea Moisture products for further conditioning. One is the Manuka Honey and Mafura Oil hair masque for deep conditioning. I’ll probably use this once a week or every other week to get some intense moisturizing. I also picked up their Jamaican Black Castor Oil leave-in conditioner. I heard great things about it because it’s light-weight, so it doesn’t make your hair look oily or weigh it down. And it smells SOOOO GOOOOD. Man Friend was making fun of me being a “pale white ginger shopping in the black hair care aisle” since that’s where the Shea Moisture and Cantu products are at our local retailers. But all white girls don’t have sleek, straight hair! I’m just sad no one taught me what I needed sooner. These products are a godsend.

Aside from finding the right products for me, it’s been a challenge to figure out how to sleep on my hair to avoid having to completely soak it down in the morning to get it looking right. Because it takes too long to dry and I don’t really have a job where I can get away with coming in with wet hair. But I invested in a cheap diffuser for the emergency situations when it’s unavoidable. And it’s usually fine if I just wear it in a “pineapple” (very loose ponytail or bun on the very top of my head) now that I’ve got a satin pillowcase. Then all I have to do is spritz a little water on it in the morning and maybe add a tiny bit of leave-in or gel to style before I go. This dries super fast and looks way better than I ever expected.

If I have to wash it kind of close to bed time, I found through trial and error that I can wrap a dry, soft, t-shirt around my head and just keep my curls piled on top of my head without a hair elastic so I don’t crease or damage it while it’s wet. And then it’s almost perfect when I wake up and scrunch it out. This is what I’m going to start doing on Sunday nights so it’s ready to go on Monday mornings.

I told myself I was going to give myself two weeks to get my curl pattern back before I went in for a trim, but somehow ended up trimming it myself on day 3. I’m regretting the decision a little, as some of the curls have changed their pattern since then. So in a few weeks, I’ll probably go in for another trim to fix what I messed up. It doesn’t look bad, but would have come out better if I’d waited like I originally intended.

The length difference is taking some getting used to. When straightened, my hair falls down my back to the small of my waist. I’ve been growing it out for sooooo long, and giving myself regular small trims to keep the ends from being awful. With me wearing it curly, it looks like it’s just below my shoulders. But it looks so healthy so overall I am pretty pleased.

This entry is soooo much longer than I ever intended. If you somehow made it through the whole thing, kudos to you. Why did you do it? :)


Sync September 20, 2018

Interesting, I have curly hair too they're so loose but defined I have to comb them out to get more of a wavy curl. But I never brush, I only use a wide toothed comb.
I tried chopping them off but now its just gets longer.

My hair has gone through lots of abuse, I've bleached it, I've straightened it, I've cut it, I've bleached it some more.And somehow its just absolutely fine.
I wear a shower cap on my head at night if I want my hair to absolutely glisten in the morning, it for some reason traps so much moisture.

I've used Cantu before but it wasn't really for me. I wash my hair with Jamaican Castor Oil sometimes. And I've used this product called "Noodle Head" and it's worked wonders too.

My absolute favorite thing to use is this pinkish looking Hawaiian silky gel activator, and I think its for people with perms but its still my favorite thing to use.

It doesn't get all goopy like most gels, it dries up but doesn't harden and leaves things soft and shiny.

I think we have two different hair types though.

Curls are complicated.

Ginger Sync ⋅ September 20, 2018

They really are so damn complicated! I doubt that most of the Cantu products would work well for me either, but I got their curl reactivating spray, and I'll spray just a couple of squirts on my hand in the morning and rub them together and use it to tame any rebellious frizz if I need to. A very very little goes a long way. I think any of their creams would be too heavy for my hair. I've made that mistake before way back and just looked greasy and gross.

I was pretty surprised by how quickly my curls kind of sprung back to life. I detangle mine with my fingers in the shower instead of using a comb, as I used to comb it all out while it was wet. I'm pretty lucky on the tangle front unless I go swimming in chlorine, or go on vacation to the beach, or ride in a vehicle with the top down or something.

Deleted user September 20, 2018

What brand hair gel do you use i need ideas my hair seems to be coming out in the shower like enough to make a creepy hair voodoo doll lol

Mystery Deleted user ⋅ September 21, 2018

This could be a symptom of low thyroid. I've been there before.

Deleted user Mystery ⋅ September 21, 2018

:o

Ginger Deleted user ⋅ September 21, 2018

I also lose a bunch in the shower since I don't wash it every day. I've been using LA Looks sport gel. It's worked best for me so far and it's only like $3 & you can buy it just about anywhere!

Deleted user Ginger ⋅ September 21, 2018

Ok thanks

Deleted user Ginger ⋅ September 21, 2018

Oh yeah i wash like every 3 or 4 days maybe thats why

Mystery September 21, 2018

I have curly hair as well. I've been using It's a 10 leave-in conditioner and it really helps reduce frizz and coarseness.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.