blood test news in Second 1st

  • Sept. 18, 2018, 6:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel like I have no idea what to do with my afternoon. Things to eat I want to wait till tomorrow to fix because of company. … and fresh rolls with dinner mmmmm.

Got the results from my blood tests today too. I am a bit relieved to find out that there is MORE wrong with me. This had potential to be a huge thing, seriously. I am deficient in D like Rocky BUT.... they thyroid tested low/normal. It tested within functioning range but struggling. I’m going to pick up meds in about an hour. Why is this big?

10 Signs of Hypothyroidism:
1) Feeling tired. Also, a symptom of Meniere’s disease that we may have written off as just that (had I not asked if there may be other causes)
2) Gaining weight- When thyroid levels are low, metabolism switches modes. I’ve been big my whole life but it seems like no matter how good I eat or how active I am I can’t lose more than 10 lbs. Seriously, it’s a struggle .... THIS could be the primary reason for that.
3) Feeling cold- Over the last couple years.... I wear long sleeve comfy cloths around the house because 72 is too chilly some days. I’ve contributed it to low iron or something. #1 reason I take a multivitamin.
4)Weakness and aches in muscles and joints. - this one I’ve also had as long as I can remember.... I’ve written off everyone because it’s mostly in my legs. I was born with my toes facing each other and have had pain in them most of my life. May or may not be related.... but so far they are all like that.
5)Hair loss- it’s always everywhere.... but I have a lot so… I lose a lot.... probably has nothing to do with my thyroid.
6)Itchy/dry skin- again.... I just have dry skin.... don’t think it has anything to do with this.... maybe?
7)Feeling down and depressed- happens to everyone… n one study, thyroid hormone replacement improved depression in patients with mild hypothyroidism, compared to a placebo. Another study of young women with mild hypothyroidism showed increased feelings of depression, which were also connected to decreased satisfaction with their sex lives.....Well, we don’t get it on like we use to .... unfortunately it’s more times than not.... me.
8)Trouble Concentrating or remembering---- Funny to listen to me call almost everything a thingy or make hand gestures so someone can guess what I’m trying to say but very frustrating. Again I put this on Miniere’s because “brain fog” is a common symptom.
9) Constipation- We don’t talk about poop, it’s not something people talk about. All my life I’ve had issues. I have a rather terrifying and embarrassing bathroom tale in which I had tried to poop for nearly a half hour when my mom had to come in and help me using a toothbrush. No lie. I’ve always had issues and keep stool softener ALWAYS. My grandmother, when I was young, would make me molasses cookies that I loved.... they helped before we even knew there was a problem.
10) Heavy or irregular periods.... for those who may recall.... last year/or was it the year before?.... I went to the ER because I was so scared from a heavy period. I’m on birth control because of heavy irregular periods. Thinking about all this I wonder why the OBGYN didn’t send me out for a blood test then.

i’m excited to think these annoyances could get better. They will probably never go away but I could start feeling like a new me in just a month..... between thyroid treatment, treating all of the above.... vitamin D.... steroid shots.... I’m hopeful, excited really is the word. The thyroid meds could really help pump up my metabolism and with the nearly no sodium diet (which includes as many veggies as I want EVER) it may just melt away. May.... Calm you’r tits Jen. Put your pants on one leg at a time. One foot in front of the other foot.

I forgot a couple things while getting groceries (no shock see #8) and I can pick up the meds I need in about 45 mins. The nurse says I should start feeling it in about a week. I’m ready to get started. If it helps with the above issues I’ve been ready most of my life.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.