In The ER in Hello

  • Sept. 5, 2018, 1:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Leg started hurting again yesterday so took my meds. Still hurt today so again, took meds, kept it elevated. Well…few hours and a handful of pills or two later, my knee is swelling and the pain is so intense I’m nearly in tears and can’t walk without crutches. So I’m currently at the emergency room. Another x-ray, ultra sound (check for blood clot), and blood work. Just waiting on the resuts. I’m still in immense pain and wish they’d give me a good narco shot but nope…just waiting. I’d like a cigarette, too, but that’s not gonna happen till I get home.

alt text

UPDATE
Home now. Steroid shot. About to have a late dinner/early breakfast of bacon and eggs.


Last updated September 05, 2018


Deleted user September 05, 2018

sorry, this is random. i read your entry. i then checked your profile. noticed you used a philip k dick quote. so have you read any of his works? i've been a total fan of his for years. one of the greatest "psychological" science-fiction, for sure. i used to have about 90% of his books, until my wife and i lost stuff in storage...now i gotta start over, but i'm not gonna be able to get about six of them, they were hard-cover first editions, and i also had a couple of his books, released in the UK. anyway, just thought i'd write a random note. hope everything turns out ok with you. i know how pain in the leg can be. i have an issue with my right knee, ever since 1989 when i had a motorcycle accident. not pleasant, believe me. well, good luck with everything, just thought i'd drop a note.

J.E. Deleted user ⋅ September 05, 2018

Aw man that makes ME hurt over the loss of the first editions.
I live his work. Read just about every novel the library has of Phil's. Even got a few short story anthologies. Some of his works are just so surreal it blows my mind.

Deleted user J.E. ⋅ September 05, 2018

it took me a long time to collect them, few years and two different states lol my first wife was from michigan, so every time we visited, i went to this old, used book place in flint. they had a lot of his books, so i'd buy what they had. then back home, in texas, there were two shops i went to. i've read quite a number of them. one time, back in 1991, i had to make a deal with the mother...she'd help pay the tuition, if, at around 42 or so, i went back to college...i'd go have some tests done, to check how smart i was (funny) and to see "what was wrong with you) sort of thing. when i'd go for a session, i'd get there about 45 minutes early, so i could watch the pretty secretaries and read his book, Clans of the Alphane Moon...later on, it dawned on me, this weird coincidence: i was seeing a psychological therapist and reading his book about crazy people on the Alphane moon. it was funny in a rather peculiar way.

Walking Crow September 05, 2018

Damn love, -hugs-
Any better now?

J.E. Walking Crow ⋅ September 05, 2018

Still swollen but I can walk some on it. Been in and out of consciousness most of the day on my couch due to lack of sleep last night.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.