RAD: Dapper M. in These Foolish Things

  • July 23, 2018, 3:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Name: Dapper M. - a VERY smartly dressed attorney

Introduction Platform: [I’m adding this section because I’m meeting people in all kinds of ways now!] We met via a woman who works at the temporary office space where I’m leading a brainstorming session on Wednesday. Once we figured out we were long-lost sisters, I felt comfortable enough asking her if any eligible men ever office in that space. Sure enough, she started the matchmaking process! She had one guy in mind, but this OTHER guy came in (Dapper M.) and she did the introduction via FB Messenger!!

Age: Not sure, but guessing late-40s to early 50s

Status: Divorced several years. Not sure about other significant relationships. No kids.

Job: Criminal, Family, Business and Non-Profit Attorney

Lives: He’s geographically undesirable from my home, but lives pretty close to my office - and the office where he works.

Length of Date: 1 hour

We Did: Lunch. We met at a restaurant of his suggestion (a fancy chophouse I didn’t even know existed close to the office). He was already there waiting for me when I arrived.

He Looked: Sharp dresser! Was wearing a subtle plaid THREE PIECE SUIT complete with tie (naturally), pocket square (bonus) and really gorgeous, shiny dress shoes. Impeccable. So that’s the dress part. As far as the physique - I’d guess he was 6’1”-ish, full head of dark hair (colored?), in decent shape, but not buff. Nice looking.

I Looked: Well, it was Friday and I’d nearly forgotten I had a lunch DATE, but I remembered after I’d already gotten dressed. Luckily, I was already in a casual dress and said, fuck it…I’m not going to change into something dressier (company dress code is casual and it’s a heat wave). I added a beautiful belt and tall wedges (a weed-out item) and spent a bit of extra time with my hair and lashes. I was put together.

Convo: So. Here’s the thing…he’s SUPER serious! He was very good at keeping the conversation flowing (I’m sure that’s the trial lawyer in him), and I appreciated that. I was kind of fascinated by the criminal attorney part (he’d just come from court) and asked him a lot of questions about getting a DWI (of all things!) and he couldn’t stress enough the importance of taking UBER (ha!). He asked me about all of the different places I’ve lived and wanted to know about work and free time and stuff (you know, the youzh), and I asked him the same....like where he likes to hang out and stuff. I think he works insanely long hours - told me he was working all weekend on a project and then leaving for Toronto and didn’t know how long that trip would last as it was for the purchase of a business, etc.

High Point: He was super polite and chivalrous. He did something that I absolutely melt when it happens - he put his hand on the small of my back as we were walking out of the restaurant. I don’t know why I love that so much, but it just feels like the tiniest touch of affection and in this instance made me know that it was more than a business lunch.

Low Point: We didn’t really laugh at all. It was such as SERIOUS first date.

How It Ended: He walked me out of the restaurant, we rode the elevator down to the street level and said goodbye outside of the building (it was inside of an office building). He told me that he’d like to see me again and I said that I would like that too. We split in the parking lot and that was that.

Chances Are: 65%. I don’t know if he was sincere about wanting to meet again because I haven’t heard from since my thank you text and his “my pleasure” text. It was very nice and I’m curious about him, but not bowled over. I hope to get another meeting.

Date Rating: B+


Deleted user July 23, 2018

I really do take notes on these posts, fyi.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ July 23, 2018

haha...why?

Deleted user Ginger Snap ⋅ July 23, 2018

Positives and negatives. Proper conduct. What works, what doesn't, and why. Could be very useful information.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ July 23, 2018

Are you "out there" and dating?

Deleted user Ginger Snap ⋅ July 23, 2018

I'm not. The wife frowns on such things. But it has its applications even in marriage.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ July 23, 2018

Got it! Yeah, can imagine a spouse taking some issue to Bumbling and such 🤣 But yeah...suppose it applies in terms of what people like and don’t.

Now. How to get 2nd, 3rd and 4th dates. Would LOVE to see someone’s review of ME!! 😬

Gangleri July 23, 2018

Pocket squares are that important?

Ginger Snap Gangleri ⋅ July 23, 2018

Yep! What Tigressa said!

bobbi01 July 23, 2018

It sounds more like a job interview than a date. Hopefully it goes to the second round :)

Florentine July 24, 2018

I am in the minority here, but I say sometimes serious dates are refreshing. I'm an introverted Aries, so I like to skip small talk and get right into probing conversations. Everyone loves humor, but maybe that will show through with a little more time together, especially if he was coming from a trial. Sometimes it's hard to switch between serious work person mentality and fun date mentality.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.