I'm not giving any tribute to OD fuck it. in Other shit.

  • Feb. 6, 2014, 9:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I know we all have our sentimental attachment to Open Diary. I feel like a traitor to Prosebox even spelling out "Open Diary" even as it's plug is about to get pulled.

I'm just disappointed. I scrambled to save my shit tonight with the help of another Oder....and my friend. And if it weren't for her texting me to let me know Bruceballs was going to pull the plug tonight at midnight I probalby would have lost all my shit.

Which just ENRAGES ME.

What the fuck???? SIX YEARS. GEEEZUS. It was a commitment! Maybe a commitment only to ourselves and our stories but still. It meant something.

He said within two weeks and a week later he is pulling the plug last minute?

FUCK HIM.

I think it is stupid. He's left it alone all this time and then now he's in a rush to wash his hands of it while we all couldn't even GET ON to take care of our diaries for so long?

FUCK HIM.

When I first came to Prosebox. I was all feeling like I would never get used to this place and UGH I don't wannnnna. I want my OD.

But fuck that.

Not only did the creator of this place answer every fucking question I ever asked (and STILL IS) he's walking EVERYONE through everything. He's caring about OUR issues. And taking care of what he can.

And swiftly.

OD fuckmeister NEVER DID THAT THE ENTIRE TIME I wrote there.

I never imagined I'd have a bad word to say about OD. But after being HERE it's like HOW could I love OD so much?

No. We can't personalize our diaries here. And things ARE different. But they are not THAT different. And what's WRONG gets FIXED. And the shit we just aren't USED TO we will GET used to.

I just feel so disappointed in so many things right now.

And OD dying without him giving us plenty of time to make sure we get what we want from our diaries. It just leaves such a bad taste in my mouth. He could have given us time.

I'm sure a lot of you will still defend him and say he DID. And OD was going down for a long time so why didn't I get my shit earlier.

But the DM did not EVER say a word to us about pulling the plug. And then once he does. He is like racing out the door.

And you might also think well THIS guy here at Prosebox is just so attentive cause it's new.

I don't believe that. I think he gives a shit about what HE has created if not the people participating in what he's created. He really takes a lot of time to answer questions and deal with problems and stuff.

From what I know Bruce NEVER did that even in the beginning.

So. Anyway.

THIS is home now.

Yes. I will miss OD. I will miss the people who will undoubtedly be lost as a lot of them might not follow us to Prosebox. Which is a shame.

But the DM didn't leave with dignity in my opinion.

And I thank my friend QW for talking me into trying out Prosebox awhile ago so that I'm not totally fucking traumatized by OD's lights going out tonight.

I'm not a computer person. OD was the reason I even started getting on the computer. Six years ago. I got my first laptop EVER. And I was overwhelmed with the INTERWEBS....yes I was. STILL AM overwhelmed by it sometimes.

I somehow found OD and my love for writing kept me going back. And before you know it I was learning how to use a damn computer!

So. I guess there is some nostalgia associated with OD for me too.

But mostly it's the PEOPLE. The friends I've gained through OD.

Sigh. That's it. Again...this is home now. And I've painted and moved all my shit and it's comfy.

I'm gonna stay.

Boop.


SkipToMyLu February 07, 2014

What about the chickens????

~Mrs. O~ February 07, 2014

Yeah F Bruce! I couldn't even download my diary (I copied and pasted the entries I wanted to save to a private book here).

Yes, this place is different, but most of my faves are here. I care more about the people than the place. So I'm getting over it.

Her February 07, 2014

I agree with you. Him leaving so quickly was terrible. When I started here in 1998 he was attentive. He poured his heart into it. However in the last 5 years at least he was pretty much gone. So sad (for me) that's its gone. I guess all good things must come to an end.

Vetinari February 09, 2014

oh my goodness. I am very upset about OD, and the way it was handled, and the fact that it is gone. But as always when people suggest what the diarymaster should have been doing, I have to ask myself: "What do we really know about his life, his ability to maintain this website, and the problems it's experiencing?" I have to sit back and figure there's a lot about the situation that I don't know about or understand, and unfortunately this is the way it is. I am SO glad that you were able to get your entries before the site close down, though, and I'm glad we have prosebox

Beesofmyknees February 09, 2014

Hi lovey. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.