H343 QNE NO2 - ON3 RINT34 ORR ON 5H3 K3YGQO4E in These titles mean nothing.

  • July 9, 2018, 11:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

no53 - 5h3 qgoqf3 no53 iw 5p3e in doe3. on3 k3y orr on 5h3 k3ygoq4e. no5 wu43 2h343 5h3 numg34w dom3 r4om,

/411. 999,590 left. Silliness above comes from having fingers one key (or so) off on the keyboard. My new-ish computer has a number pad - which I never use because I don’t have Excel. That makes the letter part of the keyboard skew to the left and it’s hard for me to find those little nubby things your index fingers are supposed to use to tell you you are in the right place to type. Ahh life is so difficult. I also have an expanded spell check that corrects words for me - sometimes wrong of course but that’s a different problem. It also seems to know how to spell a lot of words but not all. I will know I’ve spelled somethibg wrong - example something just three words ago - and good ole autocorrect does nothing for that word. You’d think by the time you got to somethi = the computer wizes would know I wanted to say something. And how do you pluralize wiz anyway. Wiz’s is not my style. Wizes is squiggle underlined. I suppose the grown up solution would be to use the word wizards - which we can all pretty much agree is good English.

/412. Jim and I did go to the Dem event yesterday. It was very pleasant and we had a good time. Since I’d given up my return trip to the book store = to buy the Hall pottery and Manchester’s MacArthur and another book I can’t remember, I could afford to put money in the pots. Well I only put it in one and Jim did the others. I had assumed it was a one contribution that would be divided amount the candidates, but there were separate buckets for each and one for the county organization as well.
I like to encourage people to get involved at grassroots level but I suspect many people don’t do it because they don’t want to be continually solicited for more money. I get that. But still… There are always other ways to volunteer - that’s propaganda too == yet it’s true.
Sometimes I worry I make everything about money. But money is important. We have to make decisions on how and where and how much money to spend. We need to save money for emergencies, for life in general. Ok That’s my speech for today.

/413. I spent some time recently in OD archives. God, we used to be good. I was good and my noters were good. It was a different time. We were fresher to the ‘net. The thrill of actually putting up words (and pictures!!!) for the world to see was new, and like all new thrills, it was intense. Now those of us left are old married couples, bringing home a gallon of milk and the newspaper. Hi, honey, how was your day?

/414. Speaking newspapers I had a call from a real live person at the Gazette asking me to return to the fold. I didn’t tell him about Jim learning to read from the cartoons, but I did tell him I had strung for the paper in the olden days. I was able to tell him I need a longer separation. My guilty pleasure is enjoying the lack of physical newspapers piling up on the kitchen table - not having to deal with them is a relief.

/415. Here are some photos from Pike’s Peak.

alt text
Jim walking down to the lower point of view.

alt text
This is an odd picture, looking back at the higher main view - you can see people through the trees.

alt text
These are sumac from above. When I took the picture the blossoms were bright pink-ish but not in the pic.
This of course is Iowa’s Pikes Peak not Colorado’s.

/416. It’s a little before 11 am and Gracie and I have been for two walks. We went early but after the sun was a ways up in the sky, on the gravel road toward the steel culvert. Before we got to the corner before the culvert, Gracie jumped up in front of me and indicated that was as far as she wanted to go, so we turned around and came home.
A while later I had cards to take to the mailbox - Will’s birthday card (two days early, congratulate both me and Jim - it had rhyming verse. ) and a card to an old work friend who had celebrated 65!!! years of marriage. So since we were outside and moving, Gracie and I went down to the little creek and crossed it into the silo field. Corn looks nice, was the last to be planted and is not as big as the corn across the big creek. Gracie and I know because we went across the big creek too. We walked on the logger road through the field and up the old railroad/snowmobile trail. This time Gracie let me decide when to come back.

/417. I guess this is enough for today. Only 999,484 left, happy Monday.


Last updated July 09, 2018


NorthernSeeker July 09, 2018

That first photo of Jim walking toward the lookout on Pike's Peak is just terrific! Well done. The colours are so lush and the composition is great. I have spoken.

Life is a lot about feelings...when we were turned on about ideas, things, people. Those times are always great for me to remember. I like how Gracie stops the walk when she wants to go home. Smart dog, that Gracie.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ July 10, 2018

Been a while since I've had a compliment on a photo. Thanks.

Just Annie July 09, 2018

Happy Monday! A couple of us ODers are truly old married people now, but I know exactly what you mean by the thrill of first being on OD.

thesunnyabyss July 09, 2018

looks like the height of summer there,

I kept trying to figure out that beginning, lol, didn't go so well, lol

woman in the moon thesunnyabyss ⋅ July 10, 2018

I thought I'd be able to figure it out = like left hand was on correct keys and right over one but it's not that simple. I even type badly badly. OK an attempt = Here and now - one finger off on the keyboard = that's it. The title anyway.

Purple Dawn July 10, 2018

:)
I still can't get onto OD .. oh well, somethings are best left in the past for me.
Take care, I enjoyed your pictures :)

woman in the moon Purple Dawn ⋅ July 10, 2018

Too bad about OD and you. I was really surprised to get back in fairly easily. I wasn't one of the early ones asked to test it. I used OD as a 'creative outlet' and I was really glad to get those years back. Some of the photos are available, some aren't. I think I had several photobucket accounts, I remember user names and passwords to some degree but haven't tried to get into those accounts.

Serin July 10, 2018

The search facility here leaves me feeling very disconnected from my past self. The OD search used to be great for peeking back at my life and refreshing old memories. And my backups exist but they're not "easy" the way the old files used tobe. I know it's greedy, but it's my sulk. :)

Marg July 11, 2018

I love the 'old married couples' analogy!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.