coming home in formless

  • June 15, 2018, 6:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

given some time for reflection
I realize that I have been buying clothes/makeup because I am lonely
because if I dress a certain way, do my make-up a certain way
magically I will be happy and feel like I fit in

not too much, within my discretionary income, but it’s still things I don’t need
and the reality is I am a leggings and t shirt kinda girl
and I’m not good enough at applying make-up for it to make a difference
and am often doing things where it doesn’t make sense to wear any

and at the heart of things
these outside changes in appearance don’t change the fact that I am lonely
that I am mentally holding myself just out of reach of the water

I reached out to a friend
in the hopes of mending bridges
but there was only silence

it feels that way a lot of the time
I want to rent a car and drive up north by myself once I turn 25
I know people will have a problem with this
but I am tired of placing my happiness in the hands of others

XOXO
love and emmenathe
sayornis


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.