By The Time I Finish This... in meh...

  • June 13, 2018, 2:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

…I will have realized why I shouldn’t be bothered by something that happened at work yesterday and my rant is on the petty side of ridiculous.

So from time to time in this building, things are put up for consumption by the masses and that’s fine. I am a believer in courtesy.

Ok this is what happened.
There were a few carry out boxes that had roast beef sandwiches and hummus wraps in them in the break room. I went down to get ice that morning and saw a note that said, “Sandwiches in the fridge. Help yourself.” Cool. I grabbed a hummus wrap and ate it right then because I didn’t have breakfast. Lunch time, I grabbed a roast beef to go with my broccoli. I had designs to take a few roast beef sandwiches home, but I was going to wait until the end of the day because 1) I don’t want it to sit out in my office all day. 2) I wanted to give someone else a chance to get some. The one department upstairs had pizza ordered so they were not participating. So I figured ok, I’ll have a few to grab. And a few meaning like 3. There were perhaps 6 in each box and there were like 2 boxes.

Mind you there are NO offices in the basement.

So afternoon rolls around. Mail Person comes around like she usually does. I had my stuff in the outbox and I was chilling. When she leaves, I just so happened to look up and she’s got ALL of the roast beef sandwiches in her cart just strolling out. I’m looking at it and her and said, “Ain’t that a bitch.” So I’m believing that someone told her they were there because otherwise, there would be no reason to go into the basement.

I went down again and looked in the fridge and yep. ALL of the roast beefs were gone. I was saying, “Wow.”

Yes. The sign said help yourself. If there is an ongoing flow of the stuff, then I can see that as justification for taking an entire anything of something. In a party situation, you can eat and eat and eat if you want. But when there are limited quantities of something, Help yourself doesn’t mean take it all for yourself. The same as All You Can Eat doesn’t mean pull up a chair to the buffet and keep everyone from getting the crispy egg rolls.

So of course I go into the, “You know where we work. Who knows if she makes enough money to have groceries. Lord, knows I barely do most weeks.” Then I thought of another time when she “pulled up a chair at the buffet.”

HR had a luncheon and brought back sopressata slices, cheese cubes, grapes, strawberries and thin sliced baguette pieces for the sopressata. She came in, had a plate, piled the plate up using her hands AND eating at the table where the stuff was. I was grossed out, but again she was hording. Earlier this week. There were cookies on the table. I’m not one to rush to the table and often I don’t partake but some days I’m hungrier than others. After lunch, I grabbed 1 sugar cookie, one oatmeal raisin. I wanted another oatmeal raisin, but was like, if anyone else gets them, then it’s whatever. There were like 6 or 8 cookies. Before the end of the day, there was 1 of each. I was like damn that was quick. So grabbed the last oatmeal cookie.

So I go back to the point that my rant is petty. It could even be seen as she beat me to it. Thing is, I wasn’t going to take ALL that was there. Someone else would probably want to get in on it. Why would I get in the middle of that?

I also don’t know what she’s going through that she may have needed to take them all. “This is lunch for a week.”

I’m not perfect. Far from it.

I’m becoming old and crotchety. LOL

Kindest regards,
Sister


Last updated June 13, 2018


Comfortably Numb June 13, 2018

Nope, not petty. People are assholes. Greedy assholes.

Sister Comfortably Numb ⋅ June 13, 2018

I'm glad someone else sees it.
Really.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.