05-22-18: sick days and headphones in Daily Thoughts, Ideas, and Experiences

  • May 23, 2018, 4:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

You know, I meant to write yesterday but it just didn’t happen. I’ve had an inkling that I was getting sick for the last week or so. Typically, my sense of smell is heightened a few days before I get sick, then I get sluggish and congested, then when I might have a day off, I get actually properly sick. But I haven’t had a day off so the lingering pre-symptoms are hitting me pretty hard. Which is just great since I just had to take a math exam that I’m not all that confident about. I don’t need to ace it to get n A in the class, but that would make the rest of the term so much easier.
But, back to yesterday. I woke up early feeling pretty groggy with a sore throat. I read through the whole drivers manual and worked up the energy to shower and get dressed. Even though I wasn’t feeling well, I decided it might just be for the best to go to the DMV and just get my permit. So that’s what I did. On the way, at about 9 am, my boss called me and asked me to come early. At that point was thinking about not going at all and trying to find someone to cover my shift but I suppose I was well enough to work because I did. I passed my permit test and then went back home to study for a few hours before going back out to work I was a mess but the mall is always slow on Mondays, so it wasn’t unmanageable. I left early and I feel bad leaving my coworkers a person short…but I don’t think I would’ve been much help anyway. I pretended to study a bit more when I got home and tried to go to bed early. This morning I didn’t feel that much worse and I actually woke up before my alarm twice without feeling too groggy. I keep saying that, everything is manageable. And it is but I wish that I was feeling terrible another week.
In other news, I finally bought some new earbuds. I have quite small ears so finding earbuds that are comfortable and fit well is always tough. But I found a pair, JVC gelly something with a little microphone on the cord. The smallest earpiece fits me perfectly, they block out noise just the right amount and the mic works as an on/off switch if I just click it. A lot of the time I won’t actually listen to music, instead, I just want to block the world out or eavesdrop. Either way, I can subtly click the mic and turn my music on it off and it’s very handy.
Anyhow, I had these headphones and I loved them but they only lasted a couple years. Which is still great. But I couldn’t find them again. So I settled on some similar headphones. I actually found the same pair just without the mic but they just broke maybe two weeks ago.
So just a few minutes ago, I went to my school’s bookstore to by some canvases for my final painting project. And they had some signs saying 15% off headphones so I took a look and they had them. Not in black like I would have liked but white works too.
This was a stupid tangent but it’s been a bad few days so this is a true joy for me. Honestly, earbuds are an anxious person’s best friend.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.