Romance, not quite what you might think in Everyday Ramblings

  • May 20, 2018, 7:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is the most amazing bower of wisteria I have ever seen. The garden it is in was started in 1916 so over 100 years ago. There are some rhododendron bushes that are so big and old they are trees that you walk under. There is a bench inside the bower of wisteria and I took this shot this morning from in there.

We had Frida off leash because we were in the parking lot and she was full of energy and she kept coming in under the draping wisteria to see what we were up to. We ran her in the parking lot, I am an honorary dog in her eyes and she loves horsing around with me.

I love visiting other people’s dogs and other people’s gardens. I have not been to this one in at least 15 years. It is free and open to the public everyday but it is in an exclusive neighborhood south of here on a bluff right over the river. It is a bit of a challenge to find.

We were there for at least an hour if not longer and we saw, umm, four people. Mrs. Sherlock had not ever been there, and didn’t even know about it, which I thought was rather amazing.

She loved it! We both loved it.

It was so so beautiful. I felt a sense of calmness the minute we drove through the gates. The family that owned it left it with an endowment for upkeep to the Episcopalian Diocese. They take care of it but there is also a sense of wildness, with some Oregon grape and a lot of volunteer foxglove around the place.

The sky was overcast so Mt. Hood was not visible but it was dry.

I had remembered loving it when I visited before, which was not in spring and I was a little afraid that I had built it up in my mind but wow it far exceeded my expectations.

When I got home (after the garden we then went off to the local state park and did a proper hike) I realized I was happy.

Simple not fancy easy and comfortable happy. I had enjoyed my early morning and listening to today’s Dear Sugars podcast about aging and sex, I had enjoyed my workout at the gym listening to an old interview with Tom Wolfe, and I ever so much enjoyed aimlessly walking around the garden with Frida and Mrs. Sherlock.

Her husband got his PICC line out Monday and she had a busy active week and enjoyed being with me and not mentioning him at all. After all those weeks of his treatment being the absolute center of her attention.

It is kind of a revelation to me, that like the full moon setting over the water just before dawn the last day we were at the beach and the auspicious rainbow we saw a bit later that day the I can experience the romance of a life well lived without associating it with…well…some guy.

I think this is one of the unsung joys of aging.

Of course I am sad and heartbroken about the shooting in Texas.

Of course I am beyond dismayed at the almost all the news coming out of Washington but I did like the simplicity of the Wedding Dress and how happy the royal couple looked.

Now if we could just get the sun to make an appearance in this ever-present gloom you might even get me to unselfconsciously start dancing around.


Last updated May 20, 2018


DreamCatcherGal May 20, 2018

Wow! This is gorgeous. I am a huge fan of Wisteria!

Lyn May 20, 2018

Amen to the royal couple.

May you dance.

Deleted user May 20, 2018

I love being the simple kind of happy.

mcbee May 20, 2018

I don't comment much but I always enjoy your pictures and your thoughtful entries!

ODSago May 20, 2018

Oh, my! That wisteria grove--never in my imagination did I think it could exist like that. Thanks for sharing. Re: getting along without a man in one's life...it can be fine, I'm sure. Guess I'm texting that out now. My feeling now is that it could be better with a partner but it is superbly easy living without one.

woman in the moon May 20, 2018

Photo matches the entry in terms of beauty. The idea that the garden is there and well taken care of and yet not overrun with people is wonderful.
The idea that you can be 'sensual' (I hate that word) and enjoy life without 'a guy' is a great realization. Age has its perks.

woman in the moon May 21, 2018

My husband and I visited the arboretum in Oklahoma City last week of March in 1989 (I think) and there was great wisteria. I'm not sure it makes it though our winters.

Marg May 29, 2018

You are going to absolutely LOVE retirement when it comes!

Marg May 29, 2018

And it's funny because I was greatly taken with a yellow wisteria at the weekend set against a brilliant blue sky with the backdrop of our lovely centuries old local university. It was beautiful but not as magnificent as this one!

edna million May 30, 2018

That wisteria just takes my breath away! I looooove wisteria - we have a massive one (not THAT massive, as it's 20 years old and not 100!) and it's the rare year that we don't get a late freeze that kills the flowers. It actually does have two or three blooms right now but not the overload it has the few times it does get to fully bloom. That garden sounds just perfect.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.