It seemed like a good idea in Self-Improvement, 2018

  • May 16, 2018, 10:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

at the time. Maybe I am losing my mind, but it did seem like a good idea. So I had it in my mind that after work today I would take myself and my dog to the lake 5 mins from the apt to work on doggy swimming lessons. He’s made very gradual progress in the…6 yrs I’ve had him. Still a long ways to go with this one.

We got there and either the water legit wasn’t cold or I just don’t feel it. It felt perfect to me. My dog, however, wasn’t in the mood. Not even a little. So I tied him to a picnic table and I went swimming. He was okay with watching the other dogs at the park running around for the first 5 mins of me being in the water.

And then Oh.my.god. I wish I had what transpired next on video. Note: he never tried to “breakaway” from the picnic table. He wasn’t pacing or acting panicky at all. And I think he was so distracted/entertained by watching the other dogs that he didn’t exactly realize I was in the water and wasn’t getting out.

And then I heard the canine equivalent of air raid sirens. It was a long, low, loud howl. He sat perfectly straight, had his pointed up towards the heavens all wolf-like and was singing the mournful song of his people.

I was so embarrassed, and it was most effective in getting me out of the water much to his delight. Granted the only other people there were the family picnicking with their dogs and the local high school crew team (wish my old high school had been big enough to have one of those!)

He was estastic when I got out of the water. What am I going to do with this....anchor… of mine?

I’ve often wondered what would happen if I wanted to take a legit vacation and had to put him in a boarding facility for like a week what would happen. Now all I can picture is him sitting in a corner of a kennel howling and howling until his mother came back :/


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.