I Keep Forgetting to be Sad in Struggles with Addiction & Depression

  • May 15, 2018, 8:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Consequentially I keep forgetting to write.

I’m still taking Lexapro and I haven’t missed a day yet. Booked my follow up to refill my prescription, even.

The weather is finally warm and I am able to ride my skateboard at night along the bike paths. I discovered an obvious route I somehow missed last year when I first moved in that takes me all the way to Inglewood and the other side of the river, to one of my absolute favourite night skating spots.

Unfortunately tonight when I got there an actual chain-wielding maniac was blocking the river pathway under one of the bridges leading out of the downtown core. He was cursing and menacing his weapon at passer-by. A kind couple flagged me down before I barrelled directly into his path, oblivious, and I showed them the blue emergency “help” callbox and helped them get the police on their way.

I skated away a little bummed that I couldn’t freely rip around my best night spot but also feeling a little heroic, even though I never really got anywhere near actual danger. I looked over my shoulder all the way home.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.