Pics from this weekend in Self-Improvement, 2018

  • May 14, 2018, 3:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday I went on a day trip with a friend from the football team and her family (minus her husband, who is more like a live-in roommate that she doesn’t get along with....her words, not mine.) It was me, her, and her two boys (7 & 9 yrs old). It didn’t occur to me when she originally invited me along that it would be their Mother’s Day getaway that I’d be crashing as the third wheel. But she seemed like she wanted to me come, like it wasn’t a pity invite. But who knows. I went and I had fun.

We made 3 stops: Snoqualmie Falls (which I’ve seen), Lake Chelan (which I’ve been DYING to see), and Leavenworth (a cute Bavarian style town).

Snoqualmie Falls was our pit stop on our way to Lake Chelan. The water was raging. Sooooo much snow melt coming down the mountains right now. There was spray everywhere from the intensity of the falls:

Snoqualmie Falls Spray<script async="" src="//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The combination of all the spray and the sunshine created quite a picturesque rainbow opportunity:

Snoqualmie Falls<script async="" src="//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

After the Falls, we continue onward towards the lake. This particular lake is a huge tourist destination and is completely fed my snowmelt from the mountains. At least that’s what I’ve been told. Its super clear and clean.

Lake Chelan Panorama<script async="" src="//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

We were lucky enough to go before tourist season has had a chance to begin.

Lake Chelan<script async="" src="//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I could spend a weekend here fully content with swimming and reading

Lake Chelan Water<script async="" src="//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

After the lake, we began our trip back. The lake is roughly 3 hours from where we live so it was good to have pit stop locations to/from the lake. Its hard to capture the beauty of a cute little Bavarian town in a pic. Apparently they really spiff the town up over Christmas and that is really the time to come. I felt like I was at Epcot walking through a little “country”.

Leavenworth Town<script async="" src="//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Carbs were had.

Leavenworth beer<script async="" src="//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

It was definitely a good way to spend a weekend day. I thank her quite a bit for letting me tag a long. It really helped to reset my mind. I would love to go back to the lake and spend more time there, and I really want to hit up Leavenworth over the holidays.


Last updated May 14, 2018


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.