The List in Struggles with Addiction & Depression

  • April 26, 2018, 12:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The loss of consensus reality.
Is love possible? Is it real?
The dissolution of the social contract.
DIY Punk, Electronic & extreme music.
Outsider Art.
Science Fiction/Fantasy.
Supernatural & Cosmic Horror.
Drugs, sex & spirituality under capitalism.
Video games, virtual & augmented reality.
Reality as a computer simulation.

This is my pretentious list of writing prompts that I submitted to my creative writing course when asked to define what topics I wanted to write most about. I nearly forgot about them until they received a “like” today. I want them burned into the underside of my skull from the endless cycle they play over the surface of my mind.

Still taking Lexapro. Learned about the danger of heavy drinking while taking it almost to my peril, but I managed to get home without causing a biological disaster. But not before stopping hurriedly in the public washroom at the hospital not a half block from my apartment building.

I had been out at a trendy brewery with a gang of old friends I hadn’t seen in some time individually and almost for a decade in a group. Many of them I played music with or we just toured in vans across the country many forgotten years ago when we were stupid and free of responsibility.

I’m still exactly like that but most of them are married now. One with two kids. I arrived late and I was three beers behind. I hadn’t eaten all day and there were fries, nuts and a whole roast chicken. Adorable dogs were everywhere. You see where this is headed.

But somehow I made it home on foot after a whole lot of bad jokes and nostalgia. It was overall a very nice time.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.