Addiction in In My World

  • April 24, 2018, 3:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My friend and I were talking about addiction one night and the fact that I’ve never been addicted to any substances or anything. I looked to the sky, took a long deep breath and that’s when I realized… I don’t get addicted to things, I get addicted to people.

I cling to certain people as if not being around them might just make me float away or disappear. I borrow things that remind me of them as a way to bridge the gap until we’re together again. There’s an old saying about how you leave things with people (i.e. forgetting things at their house) subconsciously as a way to give you an excuse to come back. I do that but instead of leaving things I take them.

I have several hoodies that belong to boyfriend, one that belongs to a friend from a lifetime ago, and one that belonged to my soulmate before he… before we lost him. I have a hat someone left with me and I have yours. A promise of a day. I have your necklace, a shoddy excuse about not being yourself but the truth lies within its story. I was gifted a blanket of his And I took his handwriting… a permanent reminder of our connection.

I get something from each of them that I just don’t get from anyone else. I think too much but I thought you would want to know.

I know that I can be too much sometimes… too clingy, to needy, to annoying, and too whatever else applies here.. I’m too much because I’m afraid of losing you.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.