Excuses in Diary

  • Feb. 5, 2014, 12:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is a very boring subject to write about, but it's on my mind so I'm going for it. My car has been acting up, lately. Shortly after I got gas two fill-ups ago, the car started to lurch while I was driving home from the store. I had to press the pedal all the way down just to keep the engine going. Eventually, I lurched my way onto a side street and shut the car down for a few minutes while I thought about calling a tow truck. I decided to give it another try, instead, and the car ended up working normally all the way back to the house. The oil was low, so I thought it was either being low on oil that caused the problem, or bad gas. The next time I filled up, I went to a different gas station, just in case, but I experienced the same problem. I don't know much about cars, but I thought maybe I had a problem with the fuel line, or with something connected to that. Either way, the lurching stopped soon enough, and I was able to make it to where I was going with no further problems.

At this point the problem had only happened after gassing, so I thought nothing of continuing to drive around. Everything seemed to be fine for a few days. Then, the day before yesterday, I drove to my mom's house to visit her bird while she's on vacation, and as soon as I got off the freeway, the lurching started again. And once again it went away, and I was able to drive back.

Anyway, like I said, this is a very boring subject, and it's so frustrating. I've decided that I have no choice but to take my car to a mechanic. But I'm giving myself a day to come to terms with that decision. I don't really have the money to be spending hundreds of dollars on car repairs. I do have the necessary funds, technically, but since I have no income at the moment, spending that kind of money is the last thing I want to be doing. More than anything, I need a job.

It's stupid of me to not just take it in today, and maybe I'm just making an excuse by saying I need a day to come to terms with the fact I'll be spending who knows how much money. I called my dad and asked him if he's ever run into the same problem. He said he has, and thinks it might be a problem with the fuel pump. That made me think I should try to find out what the average cost is to replace such a thing on a car like mine. So those are my excuses for waiting a day.

I need (that's a lie) to run to the store and back, so I'm going to test fate and go for a bit of a drive. The store is fairly close, so I'm hoping I won't have any problems. Heh. Either way, I think I'll be able to make it there and back, even if I'm forced to stop and let the car sort itself out for a few minutes. If I'm wrong, I'll have no choice but to get it towed somewhere. So I guess I'll let fate decide whether I'm taking the car in today or tomorrow. I really would prefer to have a day to sulk about it and look up some prices. Too bad it's freezing cold outside. I'll layer up, to be safe.

I ought to make this a private entry. Oh well.

I haven't heard back yet from the last job I applied for. It's not so much my style to apply for a slew of jobs all at once. I prefer to put my focus on one job at a time. But circumstances are making it seem more practical to me to apply for as many jobs as I can. Employers seem to take issue with the fact that I haven't had an official job in a few years. I have made some money from doing caretaking for my grandparents. Still, what does it matter to them if I've done absolutely nothing for three years? Or five years? Or more? It's not as if being unemployed takes away any of my skills. If I'm qualified for the job, I'm qualified for the job. Nothing else should matter. All the dancing around is so obnoxious.

Also, I didn't get enough sleep last night. I need to go to bed earlier. As soon as it gets light, my body seems to want to wake up even if I went to bed at 3 in the morning. But good times. Wish me luck out there.


ElvenAssassin February 05, 2014

I hope it's a cheap fix.

Carmen the Vampire ElvenAssassin ⋅ February 13, 2014

Thanks. Me too. I still haven't fixed it. Lol. I'm too scared. But I do plan on making that happen within the next couple days.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 05, 2014

i hate car repairs. they are not usually inexpensive. prayers your's is. take care,

Carmen the Vampire Silent Echo/Quiet Storm ⋅ February 13, 2014

Thank you. You too. :D

WildflowerHeart February 05, 2014

It does sound like a fuel pump or injection issue to me. though I don't know too much about cars either.

And I agree about the employment gap. The way people are these days, they should be convincing good people to work for them, not us having to make them think we're good enough to work there. WTH.

Carmen the Vampire WildflowerHeart ⋅ February 13, 2014

I know, right? :D People have it all backward these days.

Carmen the Vampire February 13, 2014

Thank you! :D

ElvenAssassin February 13, 2014

I was just thinking today about how I missed you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.