More Math Rants in My Fucking Feelings

  • April 8, 2018, 2:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

All math teachers must be sadistic.

And all math lovers are perhaps masochist. (No offense Anon.)

But some are worse than others. For instance, when the problem states “give an exact answer, include radicals and fractions where needed” and then the answer contains neither… ‘gee thanks for that fucking heart attack instructor. I really enjoyed the anxiety…‘

Then there are the teachers who use units which don’t match hoping you won’t notice a conversion is needed.... ‘Do we really need this shit while we are trying to learn basic formulas?’

By far my biggest problem with math, other than anxiety, is going too fast and making silly mistakes. For instance, solving for the wrong thing. I will spend 45 minutes solving for one value in a round-about way because there was very little information presented, and much more necessary for the calculation of said value, before realising that the value I should have actually been solving for would have taken all of 30 seconds using the given information. But to my count, all the extra work I did in those 45 minutes will have been correct…


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.