Unpopular Opinion in meh...

  • April 6, 2018, 12:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So once before I made a comment about how technology is cancelling out basic common sense. Like the app or whatever it is that allows you to realize that you’ve left a child in the car and shit like that.

Personally, I call bullshit on the I didn’t know/forgot/realize my baby was still there defense. I cannot fathom it. I’m guessing that when you have a spouse and you trade the duty of dropping off and picking up the kids, it’s easy to have someone else to blame. As a single parent, you are not afforded that. I don’t care how quiet the kids get, I know who I left the house with and I know who is in the car with me and I know my responsibility. Point blank.

So today, I said something to the effect about how impatient people are and basically how people put themselves in positions to take risks and chances. Everyday when I get off the bus for work, I stop and stand still for a few minutes. Where the bus stop is, less than ten steps away is the driveway for the church/daycare/Christian school parking lot. I stop because people will drive around the bus and enter or people will see me walking and damn near hit me anyway. Or they almost get hit by the bus coming in or out of the lot. It makes absolutely no sense.

A person knows exactly how long it takes to drop the kids off and get to work, taking into account the things you have to do to get out of the house. I make this point because a friend mentioned something about kids spilling stuff on their clothes and some other shit she was saying. You know your routine and what your kids are prone to do. No, you can’t always account for the little shit that may happen, but you know your routine.

You can be on time to both and have time to spare. I remember when I was driving pre-2009. I took my kids to school. they didn’t have to be there until 9a but I had to work at 8:30. I didn’t give a shit about being late for work. I just wanted to make sure my kids were safe at school. I started letting them catch the bus when my daughter got older.

At any rate, people are just so set on rushing their lives away it’s crazy. I can’t do that. I mean, I drive faster than some, but there is always some asshole driving faster, bobbing and weaving in and out of traffic and pat themselves on the back. Fake ass. No one is more important than another. We are all trying to get somewhere safe and sound. We all can’t afford to replace the cars like a carton of eggs and we damn sure can’t replace our children.

So this is just food for thought.

Thanks for “listening” though no one usually does.

Kindest regards,
Sister


Comfortably Numb April 06, 2018

I agree, I can't see how people can just "forget" their child. I "forgot" one kid, one time, and it even wasn't that I didn't know he was there, but I forgot to shut the back door after sweeping dust outside at the house.

He was 2 and at the other end of the house watching Blue's Clues or something. I swept the steps, went back in the house and went on with my cleaning, and then 10 minutes later I realized he was being VERY quiet so I went to check - and he was gone! He'd toddled himself out the back door and climbed down the steps. Found him about 20 feet away perfectly safe in between our yard and the neighbors, trying to eat a dandelion, but that was the most panicked 30 seconds I've EVER had. I kept thinking, "OMG what if he's in the road?" because despite the park's 5 MPH speed limit, I've seen how those fools drive. People are so thoughtless.

Even so, I can't imagine forgetting him in the car.

Sister Comfortably Numb ⋅ April 06, 2018

Right! And that I can understand. But a whole human that I'm sure you said, "Hey kiddo let's get in the car.." give me a break.

Gilraent April 06, 2018

Whenever someone blows by me on the road (and I don't drive slow) I always comment "someone is in a hurry to die"
I will admit though, when I was living in Salem. It was all rush rush rush. I myself, was in a hurry to die.
I still walk fast, I still talk fast, but for the most part I've been countrified, and that's not a bad thing.

Sister Gilraent ⋅ April 06, 2018

Not at all.
And I walked fast too until I met people that walked faster than me. I don't want to tire myself out before I get anywhere any more. I will walk fast for exercise purposes only these days.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.