always unexpected in 2018

  • April 5, 2018, 5:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

10:13am

I have so much to do today and yet here I am clicking away at the keyboard. Too many thoughts! Must get them out!

I got in this morning and went through my normal routine of checking all my email accounts and work stuff. One of the last ones I checked was my work email because I almost never use it. Most people send stuff to our main one because my name is so common I ended up with extra dots and numbers. Anyway, I log in and find 4 new emails which is like a record! Two from our friend out in TX sending work docs. One from Tony, whom I’ve been exchanging messages with the last couple of days. And at the very bottom a message from the Sheriff.

That was a shocker. I guess he does want me to work on his paperwork after all. I really didn’t think he was going to. Last I heard he was thinking about it but didn’t seem too enthusiastic since he won’t make it into town and we’ll have to do it online. Oh well, I’ll contact him and see what he’s thinking.

I’m the biggest moron though! I never heard back from our exchange the other day so yesterday I sent a message about the home opener for the Giants. He’s a big fan. We’ve joked about it before. I thought it would spark a conversation. Ha ha ha. Nope.

When I hadn’t heard anything by the end of the night I was seriously regretting sending the message. Like what a dummy. Why do I try so hard!?
sidenote: I have no idea what his work schedule is like. He used to be on swing shift, I think? So I don’t know what time of day he’s available to actually respond to things.
As I laid down to bed I pulled up my phone and tried to figure out how to message him [it’s weird text/emailing his phone] and I wrote this whole spiel about how I accidentally sent him the message earlier in the day and hadn’t noticed, and I was sorry and embarrassed.

Lies, all lies! Except the embarrassed part. I was indeed embarrassed that I’m such a moron. -_- I’ve got to do better about learning my lesson on these things!

I came to work this morning half expecting [but not really] to have heard something about the late night message and when I checked my gmail there was nothing. Of course. So I was even more surprised to see the message in my work email. Sure enough he’d sent it around 10:30 last night, about an hour before I sent the “haha jk not yours” message. Why he didn’t reply to the other one I have no idea. Did he get it? Is he just weird about picking and choosing what to say? Clearly he was online with some time on his hands. The work email was a full on paragraph with attachments.

And honestly all I saw this morning was the closing line and how far downhill we’ve gone because the dude called me HUN.... H-U-N. -_- Seriously? You know who you call hun? Your grandma!!! haha.

I don’t know why I remember this but the first year he came in he kept calling me “ma’am”. I was a little offended but he was being polite. We’d just met. Whatever. Then last year he started calling me “girl”, which was cool. He’s a redneck. I get it. ;) But now we’re on to sweetie and hun? Really!? What does that even mean? I don’t want to be his grandma. =(

As soon as I saw the email I called mom over and go, “Yeeeeah we really don’t have to worry now because I’ve been downgraded all the way to hun.” We started laughing because I’d been making a bunch of jokes about being called “sweetie” and now it was worse. haha. At least we got a good chuckle out of it.

Yeah so. It is what it is. I was just trying to be friends with the guy but clearly he decides when or if he wants to talk to me.

I ended up sending him an email asking if he could call me at work because I had questions. I figure it’ll be easier that way than trying to go back and forth via email. That was just before noon but I haven’t heard anything. Again, I don’t know what his schedule is like so he could be working, or sleeping, or f*cking off, whatever.

He’ll call eventually. He has to get this stuff done for work. Doubt I’ll see him this year, which is a bummer. We always have fun working/chatting.


And then things change as they always have!! The last client left and we were busy putting papers together. I was in a huff because mom broke her 3rd stapler this year. I was digging around trying to fix it when the phone rang and I yelled, “Ugh, I don’t want to talk to you!!” as I walked up front to answer. She was leaning over the phone and I thought she was going to answer then she moved out of the way so I could see the caller id and goes “yeah right” because the sheriff’s name was flashing across the screen.

OK. I guess I’ll answer that one! ;) Then we talked for the next 35 minutes or so. hehe. I should have hung up and gone home but it’s so dang hard to get a hold of him. Apparently today’s his “Saturday” and he had to work so he’d just gotten out and saw my email saying I’d be there until 8pm. I couldn’t really hang up. You just never know when you’ll get him on the line again!

Also, I obviously enjoy talking to him. So many things to say about it. More mixed signals. Jokes with innuendo that have not occurred before. Things you should not say to your grandma. haha. I’m confused all over again. [I’m probably going to be bummed when after the next week or so I don’t hear from him for another year…] I’ll write up some more details when I have time. After I finally cut off the phone call saying “I don’t want to talk to you anymore” in response to something I don’t even remember now, I didn’t get home until a bit after 8pm. Now I’ve gotta get ready for bed and start a whole new day tomorrow. Too much craziness packed into one Wednesday!

Oh, but I just saw another email from him from about an hour ago. I totally called him out on the “hun” thing with a joke about how you say that to your grandma but I’m not offended because he used to call me ma’am. We’ll see how this plays out. haha.

rose.
10:32pm


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.