Am I Well? in Gathering of Poetry and Fiction

  • March 22, 2018, 1:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh dear,
Sometimes I forget which game I am playing.
Does it even matter?

I don’t know why I am like this.
Itching to play.
Perhaps I just miss you.
Busy rueing the day.

You’d think after all this time,
It wouldn’t matter,
Now the idea that it could,
Makes me think myself a hatter.

Pills I’ve tried,
Therapy too,
Avoidance won’t work,
Even death didn’t do.

You think he’d realize,
After all this time,
His tricks were mine first,
Silly golden dime.

Slick as a fox,
Are you now?
Seems I know much about you,
Yet you can’t figure out how?

If I had what I seek,
That frank conversation I dream of,
Would I then have the courage?
To speak of love?

It’s unlikely I feel,
Under this mask,
You’ve terrified me,
Too much to ask.

Yet my heart won’t let go,
You shine like a beacon,
What is this thing?
Seems it can’t be beaten.

Who is this boy,
Holding my attention,
I seek him everywhere,
Could I be smitten?

It hardly matters,
The fire’s burnt out,
I’m crying over coals,
Too cold to shout.

This rushed poem,
Could continue forever,
Without actualy,
Saying what matters.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.