Filed in Self-Improvement, 2018

  • Feb. 20, 2018, 6:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The move this weekend went great. My mom flew in Friday night. I told my football team that she was flying in Thursday night because even though I was hobbling around on crutches, they still would have expected to show up in the freezing cold and stand on crutches for 2 hours, watching the team practice. No.

Friday morning I was able to ditch the crutches and hobble to the store for moving boxes. My coach had graciously let me borrow her covered trailer to load all of my crap in. I didn’t have much to move, but it required something more than my Kia Soul. She dropped the trailer off at the house Friday night around 6pm. I left for the airport to pick up my mom around 8pm lol.

Saturday morning we woke up and started packing/loading the trailer. We woke up around 6:30am and the husband was gone. He’s been doing this a lot lately. Leaves in the middle of the night and comes back between 7am and 8am. Whatever. Dont care. Anyway, he walked in around 8am and said “I picked up doughnuts!” Dude was wearing dress clothes, had a new haircut, and was super energized. Sometimes I wonder if its not only pot, but something harder that he’s on. He alternated between moving boxes to the trailer and cleaning. My mom and I appreciated the help, but I knew this “positive attitude” wouldn’t last, and honestly, I wanted him to be gone while we worked.

At 11am, mom & I went over to the apartment leasing office to sign the lease and get the keys. That went smoothly and didn’t take too long and then we went out to lunch. Around 2pm, my coach drove back to my place to transport the trailer with all of my worldly (and non-worldly) possessions to the new place. She brought one of the other coaches with. Between those two and my mom, the trailer was unloaded at my new place in about 15 minutes. I did zero heavy lifting.

The move went as smoothly as it possibly could have. Once we returned from lunch to meet my coaches at the house, the husband was in 100% cold shoulder mode. Wouldn’t acknowledge my mom’s or my existence. That’s what I was expecting for his morning attitude. The “joyful helping hand” was uncharacteristic of someone helping their wife move after pleading her to stay for so long. He had all of the lights off in the house, was sitting on the couch in a daze, and couldn’t be bothered for anything. Once my mom saw the dramatic shift, she was like “so this is whats been going on”. I’m pretty sure he was quite stoned.

Today (tuesday) I officially filed for divorce at the courthouse. I haven’t hired a lawyer yet, but I filled out all of the paperwork and just wanted to get the ball rolling. Fun fact: When you file in WA state, you have to find someone of at least 18 years of age who is NOT a party of the case to serve your significant other a copy of the divorce papers, and they have to be handed directly to him/her. I was like “shit, what close friends do I have nearby?” I thought I’d be able to give them to him myself. Most of my friends are football friends who live a solid 30-40 mins away. I did find someone who would agree to do it tonight. I just hope he’s home. We’re gonna have drinks afterwards.

My leg is feeling better though. Not sure when I’ll be able to workout on it again, but it def feels better. Good enough to walk the dog for a short walk.


Last updated February 20, 2018


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.