What an insane week is right in Self-Improvement, 2018

  • Feb. 17, 2018, 12:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So at my last appointment with my therapist I told her I was waiting for a bomb to drop which would prevent me from moving this weekend. I told her whenever something starts going in the right direction for me, something bad happens, and things go back to what they were. I realize thats an unfair statement to make in the therapy world, but its how i feel sometimes, so let the truth be told. She asked me what would happen and how I’d feel if a bomb didnt drop and everything went as planned for the move? I told her it would be fantastic, but I wouldn’t believe it until I seen it.

This weekend is moving weekend. Tuesday at football practice, I got a helmet shot right to my thigh where a pad wasn’t covering. I was on the ground rolling in pain. I managed to stand through the rest of the practice, but when I got home, I could barely get out of my car (leg didn’t want to bend). I thought about going to Urgent Care but our team trainer said it was most likely a Quad Sprain W/Contusion and ice/heat therapy would be the best way to go.

I couldn’t put weight on it. I had the Meltdown of 2018 in my car. I used crutches to get around Tues night, Wed, and thurs. Today is the first day I can put weight on it.

Wednesday morning, after feeling utterly defeated about the bomb that dropped in the form of an injury, I texted my mom saying moving might be delayed on account of that fact that I couldn’t walk without crutches. I think she heard the desperation through my texts because she asked me if I’d like her to fly out if she could find a way to make it happen. I didn’t hesitate at all to say yes, please PLEASE come out.

The one thing that’s been making this entire ordeal harder is the lack of close-by family for support. I didn’t think my mom would even make that offer, I just really needed someone to talk to at that point, and she needed to be filled in on why the move probably wasn’t going to happen if it was just me. But she came through.

She flies in tonight. I hobbled to the store and bought boxes and plastic bin things this morning. Hoping that with her here that it will also keep the hubby from going too crazy. My therapist wanted me to move during a timeframe that he wasn’t home, but its a holiday weekend, and he knows i get the keys tomorrow. If I didn’t move until Tuesday, he’d think I’d changed my mind. Not sure how he’s going to act this weekend, but hopefully having my mom there will keep him in check.

I even called my apartment complex AGAIN today to make sure everything was still good about tomorrow being my move-in date. I legit almost said on the phone: “Can you tell I have an anxiety problem?”

Prosebox, this was not the week to go MIA.


Last updated February 17, 2018


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.