News of Lola. in The odd entries from life …….

Revised: 02/05/2018 5:37 p.m.

  • Feb. 4, 2018, 1 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today Lola had surgery on one ear, we were told this is some danger in this surgery but Lola has gone through it and is as well has she can. She had a ‘Total Ear Canal Ablation Surgery’ so Lola will be deaf in that Ear; later in the year Lola’s other Ear will have the same surgery.

The Vet has keep Lola in over night, she didn’t eat today if she eats to tomorrow she will come home; I cant see a Westie going with out food over today’s. My Daughter has gone to see Lola, Si took her in the two site car, it is not a sports car but a van and that is way I’m at home – I not built for bumping around in the back of a van.

Some note.

Total Ear Canal Ablation (TECA) in Dog

What is a Total Ear Canal Ablation Surgery?

The term Total Ear Canal Ablation or TECA is used to describe a procedure used to manage severe canal or middle ear disease in dogs where other methods of treatment have failed. The full name of the procedure is Total Ear Canal Ablation with Lateral Bulla Osteotomy (TECA + LBO) but most surgeons use the term TECA for convenience.
The procedure is described in detail below, but a TECA essentially involves the removal of the diseased and infected ear canal whilst leaving the hearing organ itself (the inner ear) in place. The middle ear chamber (tympanic bulla) is carefully inspected by the surgeon at the time of the operation and any abnormal tissue or material is removed. Figure 1 shows the normal anatomy of the outer, middle and inner ear.

Some news of Lola.

Today Lola had surgery on one ear, we were told this is some danger in this surgery but Lola has gone through it and is as well has she can. She had a ‘Total Ear Canal Ablation Surgery’ so Lola will be deaf in that Ear; later in the year Lola’s other Ear will have the same surgery.

The Vet has keep Lola in over night, she didn’t eat today if she eats to tomorrow she will come home; I cant see a Westie going with out food over today’s. My Daughter has gone to see Lola, Si took her in the two site car, it is not a sports car but a van and that is way I’m at home – I not built for bumping around in the back of a van.

It was only tonight that I understand was wrong with Lola’s Ears, her herring has been getting worse over the last two years, we had things from the Vet and I have put all sorts of drugs into Lola’s ears; and here we are now after the first surgery. I’m told
Lola looked an Jen and see was very tired; perhaps a nights sleep and litter food she will be us a home.

Tonight is very cold and I’m not sure if I should sleep in my bad or down stares on the settee with Ziggy; he is warm even if he takes the Duvets, will we well have a tug over it in the cold of the night.

Where if Lola is home or not I well keep you informed.

22:38 GMT 05:02:2018


Last updated February 05, 2018


Deleted user February 05, 2018

Sending you good wishes for Lola !

NorthernSeeker February 06, 2018

Poor Lola. She is such a feisty dog even with the sore ears for a couple of years. I hope she can come home today.

Marg February 07, 2018

Oh poor Lola I hope she recovers well - keep us posted!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.