Shushed in Stuff

  • Jan. 29, 2018, 5:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve grown really fond of Megan as a friend in a way that almost surprises me. I’m not used to having someone so involved in my life. And yet even with her nearly constant presence, I haven’t gotten tired of having her around.

Friday was her birthday, but since I was working I made plans for us to spend Saturday together at a spa. She seemed excited about the idea, even though I wasn’t sure if it was weird to want to take someone that is a certified masseuse out to get a massage.

Friday night I was having a really hard time falling asleep. Work stresses mostly. I usually glide through all the problems I have at work during the week, but then when the weekend comes around and I should be turning it off and relaxing, for some reason that’s when the stress hits me. I regularly have my worst nights of sleep on Friday night and Saturday night.

I started walking around the house in nothing more than a loose-fitting tank top. I’m glad my kids are all deep sleepers because I walk around the house at night without much clothes on a little too often. I was pacing the kitchen, trying to decide if a meal would help me sleep, when I looked over out the window and saw lights on at Megan’s place. It was 2:15 AM.

I grabbed my phone and texted, “You up? Not stalking you, just having trouble sleeping and saw your lights on.”

She wrote back that she was up late doing some video editing. Whatever that is all about. I didn’t ask.

We went back and forth a little and she offered to come out to rub my back to help me fall asleep. I told her that would be nice but I feel bad asking for a massage the night before I’m taking her out for one for her birthday. She shushed that objection and said she’d come over.

It wasn’t 10 minutes later she was at my door with a small bottle of coconut oil. I told her I felt guilty asking her to do this but that she was a lifesaver. She insisted it wasn’t a chore at all and said she really liked giving me massages.

We went to my bedroom. She commented that she would help me fall asleep and then slip out. We’d see each other in the morning for our spa day. I remember the very start of the massage and almost nothing after that. She’s good at what she does.

Fast forward three hours. I wake up oily and wonderful. It’s still nighttime and dark out. I roll over and can vaguely make out the shape of another person on the other side of the bed. I nudge Megan awake and say, “You’re still here?”

She’s mostly asleep but manages to tell me that we didn’t think through our plan very carefully. She had no idea of my alarm code so she realized she couldn’t leave without setting off the alarm. Valid point, I guess. We went back to sleep.

A couple hours later we’re both awake. I can hear the kids moving around and I say to Megan, “Is this going to be weird to have us walk out my bedroom together?”

She said, “Your kids? They’re not going to think anything of it.” And I’m sure she was right.

We left together and got coffee around the corner. Then we went to the spa in Dedham. I walked to the counter and told the woman that we had an appointment for a “Couple’s Day of Beauty.” This is what they called it on their website when it was two people together. It wasn’t until that very moment that I realized how it sounded. I think that, compounded with the fact that we’d slept in the same bed the night before, made me feel awkward.

I whispered to Megan that they probably think we’re a couple. She laughed and said, “Does that bother you?”

Well. A little. But I couldn’t say that. I think it would have been almost insulting to her to say that I didn’t want anyone to think I was a lesbian. So I shrugged and didn’t say anything.

We spent the day there. Massages, facials, manicures, and pedicures. Then we had a late lunch together. Then we went shopping together. I was enjoying the day with her and I think she was happy to have someone to celebrate her birthday with. I got the impression she didn’t do a single other thing to celebrate.

She never once looked at her phone the whole day too. I really appreciated that. It might be a small thing, but it’s almost unheard of these days.


SilentEcho January 30, 2018

Do you think she likes you in that way??

Triple H SilentEcho ⋅ January 30, 2018

I can't say that thought hasn't crossed my mind. But I don't think so. I think she just has a very clingy/needy personality... Where as I would never just invite myself to sleep in someone else's bed in a platonic way, I think she thinks nothing of it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.