Yeeeeaaah in Book Five: Working Through the Maze 2018

  • Jan. 23, 2018, 9:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yeah, call me any name you want to but I can’t stand immigration work.

THE ONLY EXCEPTION is when I can help someone in an Asylum case.

But everything else? Just pisses me off. Even when I can relate!

So… Egyptian kid is depressed, stops going to class, but he is a Foreign Student. Which means, he gets kicked out of school, he is in the country illegally. Well, he gets kicked out of school. He and his father come to see me. I take their case, their money, I encourage him as it is something I am familiar with, and I tell him we’ll be in touch. I try every day for two months to contact this kid and I hear nothing, nothing. He doesn’t do DICK to help his case. So I’ve got nothing. Literally nothing I can do for him. This starts in OCTOBER 2017. So October, November I am busting my ass for this kid and getting nothing in return. This week? His cousin from New York (with a thick Arabic accent) is demanding to know what he can do to fix the situation. Nothing. He doesn’t accept that answer. Dude… even if we could do an entire immigration case without the Immigrant’s participation… he isn’t going to stay in the country long if he continues to NOT go to class and NOT return phone calls/e-mails. I’m sorry for your cousin, I legitimately feel for him, but if he isn’t willing or able to put forth the modicum of effort to make sure he doesn’t get deported… that doesn’t mean I have to work 3 times harder. If he doesn’t care, there’s nothing I can do.

And yes. Things like this make me think, “Huh. I could certainly say that on a resume. ‘Why did you leave the job?’ ‘My role was significantly altered in such a way that was untenable.”


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.