September 26th, 2013 in "Waiting for my Petrichor"

  • Feb. 2, 2014, 3:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well I always knew this time would come, but I definitely was not thinking this soon. I am happy though. I feel a huge sense of relief. Dave and I are getting a divorce. Right now it is all just lingering in the air, but soon enough we will get on with the hassle of all the paperwork. He was actually the one to mention the D word. It was during a conversation we had on our forced "date night". We went to the Wild Horse and by the end of the night we both just realized, wow this is not working. We have nothing in common. We do not enjoy each other's company anymore. I got home and was lying on the bed. I sort of joking, sort of not joking, mentioned maybe I should move out....we were mere roommates and I wanted to move on. I've noticed how happy he has been having so much alone time. How happy he is when I come home at night, only to tell him I am not staying. I'm glad we are at a mutual agreement, it would be very hard if one of us was against the idea of divorce.

So we talked about the short-term and long-term plans of this idea. Short term plans scared me of course, because I am losing my sense of security. I don't have family over here. He was taking care of a huge chunk of the bills (Or should I say the military was). But I'm ready to let go of stability for happiness/freedom. I talked to T and he has a back house I can live in for 650 a month, two bedrooms. We all know I am not going to find anything better than that. I know it might be awkward because of T's feelings for me, but it really is the only option. Rodney is going to move in with me so rent is only going to be 325 for each of us! Plus heat/electricity, which shouldn't be too bad if I hold off on moving out of the apartment until March when it starts to warm up again. Plus, I don't want to screw Dave over with the apartment lease even though he says he can get by with it on his own. The exact date of me moving out is up in the air. I have yet to see this back house I will be moving into, but I'm guessing it is pretty shabby. I really do not mind though, and R said he would help fix it up. At first I was scared R would say no knowing T would be our landlord, but luckily he did not mind at all. I guess the idea of cheap rent, a bed to sleep in, and living with me outweighed the fact that T was involved. Also, T and Dave do not have any clue about the fact that R and I are officially boyfriend/girlfriend! And I need to keep it that way.

I truely think everything is going to work out just fine. I will be getting health insurance through my work for only around 50 bucks a month. My parents said they would help me out with car insurance/cell phone bill IF I need it. It would be nice, because then R and I can really devote time to saving to move to Washington which is our long-term plan. When I am done with school of course. And thankfully, we will both be able to transfer to the Yard House in Seattle.

I really can't believe how great things are going right now. I also can't believe it is officially over between Dave and I. But I know it is time. He told his parents and they said as long as we were both happy with the decision......they understand too that we have totally different future plans. Now we will both be able to live the life we want without having one of us have to make a major compromise. I guess all I can say right now is, I am one lucky girl.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.