June 19th, 2013 in "Waiting for my Petrichor"

  • Feb. 2, 2014, 3:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well the hubby and I are officially back in Beverly! It has been a hectic month. I actually hired movers to move all of our stuff out of storage and into the new apartment while Dave was still in Texas because I didn't want him to move anything with his bad back. He was really happy about that! He came back and we still had our bed and a few other things at his mom's house so we were sleeping on the futon mattress on the floor for awhile. He finally got around to moving it and I am now happily in bed with internet and able to write this entry on my laptop. Dave brought me home a tablet, which is nice but I can pretty much do all the stuff already on my iPhone and I'd rather have a keyboard to type because constantly clicking things already hurts my thumb enough with my phone, let alone trying to type on a tablet. Maybe I will start to use it more if I get the case that has a keyboard on it so I can just use it like a laptop. It will also be nice when cooking because I can easily pull up my Pinterest recipes on it. Dave and I are settling into our new apartment and we really love it! I love being able to sit out on our balcony and one of our neighbors plays the acoustic guitar and I really dig his music. It has been raining like crazy over here and I am hoping it is done for awhile. It is gross when it is hot and raining. Especially last Monday when I had to work a double tournament and the players got called off the course after thunder and lightening were reported...meaning they were in an hour early and right when it started raining buckets of water. We had to gather all the food from the kitchen onto golf carts and drive them down to the tent for 130 people. Needless to say I was soaking wet and smelt like a wet dog. It was so miserable, but since they came in early, it ended early and I got out around 7 and of course the rain had stopped.....at least I saw a beautiful rainbow in the sky while driving home! I took June 9th-11th off and Dave and I took a drive up to Portland Maine and stayed in a really nice hotel over looking the water. We stopped at Rye beach and then headed over to Portland where we happened to arrive during Maine's biggest festival---Olde Port Festival. So that was fun! Then we hiked up to a waterfall the next day. It was nice finally being able to get back to our usual adventures! He is beyond frustrated with the reserves. Not only did they send him to do "training" in Texas that he really didn't find useful, but they promised they would pay him for all his traveling expenses including gas and hotels. Come to find out, they are only giving him 750 and it cost him more than double that round trip! So that sucks, but what can you do? He REALLY doesn't want to re-enlist in a year a half....so maybe that helps my chances of us moving back to Washington?!? Sigh...... Well things haven't been all cheers over here.....he and I did get into one big fight. Over his lack of finding a job. I know he hasn't been home that long, but he really hasn't been putting any effort into finding a job. And while I am working a full time and a part time job with NO days off it can get frustrating. Instead, he is "flipping cars" with Freddy. He swears he will make a ton of money from it and considers it his job, but I tell him it is just a hobby and quite a risk because you really don't know what kind of money you can get out of re-selling cars. And to be honest, it isn't just about the money. It is about the fact that I really am working hard and doing things I don't necessarily want to while he is off having fun all the time. It is much better when we have the same sort of work schedule/things going on. We can relate more to each other and lean more on each other to get by...if that makes sense. I ended up applying to a bunch of places for him that I saw on Craigslist and he even got an interview...but they wanted full time and he won't be able to do that with school. In other news, V had one of her infamous parties last weekend. It was a ton of fun! I drank way too much as usual but it is always nice to mingle with everyone outside of work. A few crazy things happened like me busting into the bathroom and finding Matt washing his hands, so I guess I just told him to hold my purse and I sat on the toilet and took a piss. Or when Cheryl brought her man over and we ended up doing a line together on the bathroom counter. Ah. Good times. But I am glad those crazy parties only happen every once in awhile.... Here are some pictures.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.