March 20th, 2013 in "Waiting for my Petrichor"

  • Feb. 2, 2014, 1:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Saturday/Sunday: V, her friend Fleur from France, and I went out to "Umbria Prime" in Boston on Saturday night after they scored "VIP passes". I haven't been to a club in years, but figuring I am trying to get out and participate in life instead of crawling in bed and staying there until Dave comes back, I decided to go. Got all dressed up, for what I could in this horribly cold weather, and we headed out. This is why I hate clubs. LONG ass line. In the cold. And the VIP passes were a joke. We could not get in fast enough unless we had a table reserved. Which is what....$500 bucks? Um, no. We got in around 12:30 and I immediately headed to the bar. The drinks I had earlier were already leaving my system and sobriety was not the mission of the evening. One jager red bull cost me 14 bucks! Jeez. I only bought two and downed them and insisted I had a good time...which by 1:30 I was out dancing and meeting people and it wasn't so bad after all. We did have a good time, but next time I say a cheap dive bar would suffice. The thing about clubs is guys think they can just grab/touch/fondle you like it is nothing. Um what the fuck? So many guys just randomly would grab my ass and walk away. Or pull my arm and insist I go with them. Ew don't touch me. Luckily I met some pretty nice dudes and I ended up chatting with an Indian man who apparently grew up somewhere in Africa and had a British accent. He worked at JP Morgan which I was pretty impressed with. Not that I am into white-collar business men, but he seemed rather intelligent and it was nice to speak to someone with brains that wasn't trying to get at me. I found the girls chatting it up with some Peabody dudes and one guy ended coming back to V's house with us. He was really annoying and kept trying to give me marriage advice. Um, please... You could tell he was trying really hard to get some and it just was not going to happen with any of us girls. He finally left around 4 in the morning and we called it a night. The next day we ventured to Red Rock and had an amazing brunch and I was somehow craving a bloody mary? It wasn't too bad and my hangover thanked me. We made it back to Boston and saw a bit of the famous St. Patrick's Day parade! So that was nice since it was on my bucket list and last year I was too freaked out to even attempt to go. We had to leave early because we had to get to work by 4:30! And of course it was slow as all hell.

Monday: Another horrible dentist appointment. I knew it was going to be bad, but I didn't know it was going to be THAT bad. Ugh..more $700 laser work done on my gums which had apparently grown into the molar behind the one they were working on causing a huge hole in the crown. How the fuck do things like this happen? Only to me I swear! So four hours later, yes another four hour dentist appointment......the permanent crown was still not on and my entire mouth is fucked up. I have to go back tomorrow for the crown. He spilled a bit of chlorine on my lips/side of my mouth so it blistered and looks like a giant cold sore took over. EW. FML.

But besides all of that, I have been trying to enjoy my spring break. Isn't really working because I have a huge research paper due next week and it is not my favorite subject to write about (Alzheimer's disease). I feel like there is only so much to write about? But I am trying to be a bit creative about it and make sure it is as long as it needs to be.

Oh yes, and Scott has still been writing to me and keeping me sane and making me feel like there still are normal people out there. I love the way he ends his letters with spontaneous poetry: "Beauty in the simplest things A remnant of a dream untold The smallest piece of my soul A desperate cry of continuance for a story that is yet unspoken."


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.