November 11th, 2012 in "Waiting for my Petrichor"

  • Feb. 2, 2014, 1:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well my Friday day went horrible when I was at the dentist for my 10:15 appointment, sitting in the lounge waiting for Dr. Dano to greet me and remembered it was payday. I went to check my online statement to see how much was directly deposited into my account. I was hoping my account had reached three grand, when to my surprise it was barely at 2,100. I thought, how could that be? I looked at how much my paycheck was and saw a lousy $250 was deposited.

I tried to do the calculations in my head and shuttered at remembering I've had one too many crap-tip-days at work and thought it was quite possible I didn't make much in tips. Also, I had three days off last week and after the hurricane the restaurant was dead slow. I was still sitting in the lounge and it was almost 11 and the dentist still had not called my name. About 15 minutes later she came in and apologized she had an emergency. An hour later, another deep cleaning, and a cavity filled I was handed my bill -$173.00. Well, there goes almost all of my paycheck I thought. I've also been going over the numbers and it is going to cost me around 1500 for all of my dental work. And that is not even including my orthodontic treatment (which is going to be at least a 1700 down payment and a 450 payment up front for molds). I have to have 3 or 4 root canals re-done, temp crowns put in until my teeth are straightened out through the braces, then perm crowns put in. AH. Thinking I am now only going to be making around 500 bucks a month really fucked things up for me.

I went home and told Dave everything and was freaking out, he calmed me down and said if worse comes to worse I can just get another job. No big deal. Well Saturday night comes around and I get my paper check statement and realize the dumbass account lady did not include ANY of my gratuity. I pulled Kim aside and asked her to look at my check and she was shocked. She pulled up the records and calculated how much grat I should have received and it was over 800 dollars. SO she said I would be getting either another check within the week, or it would be added onto my next paycheck. But wow. What a relief. Still sucks that none of this money is actually money I can touch, since it is all going towards my dental work, but good to know I don't have to worry about how I am going to pay for all of that.

AND on top of it all, Jasper's leg is acting up again. Last night he was crying and his leg was shaking pretty bad. I really hope I can win the jackpot square at work for the Patriot's game---an extra 400 dollars sounds pretty good right about now.

I hate that things are so expensive. I just want to be able to afford my dental work, afford to get my dog's leg fixed, and not have to worry about what I am going to do next month when I fly to California and have tons of gifts to buy for everyone. I'm sure everything will work out in the end, and the sooner this whole dental ordeal is over with the better and I can get back to actually SAVING money for other things. For the time being, I am just thankful I am still making good money even though things have slowed down.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.