Why can't I sleep? in Diary

  • Feb. 2, 2014, 11:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last night, around 9:30, I heard a loud knock on what I thought was the door to my bedroom. So I went to check it out, thinking it must be D., but no one was there. The thought that someone was pulling my leg crossed my mind, so I waited in the doorway to see if anyone popped into view. In retrospect that was kind of a stupid idea, since there are really no good hiding places nearby. At that point, I knew someone must have knocked on the back door, as it was the next closest door. D. often went to the back porch to smoke cigarettes in the past, so I still thought it was her. But it seemed a little strange that whoever it was only knocked once. "Yes? Who is it?" I called out. No response. I wasn't about to open the door without knowing who it was, just in case a crazy person was on the other side.

This is weird, I thought. I walked back into my bedroom and parted the curtains over the window overlooking the porch. Since my light was on, because of the reflection on the glass, I could barely see anything. But sure enough, someone was standing out there. I think they must have left right away after that, because after waiting a few more minutes to see if they would try coming to the front door, or knock again, I looked out the window again, and no one was there.

Who the hell knocks one time on someone's back door and then doesn't respond when greeted? It was only 9:30pm. I have a hard time believing anyone would try breaking into the house so early, especially in this town. It's full of Mormons, for the most part, and they're not known for burglary. It's just so weird, though.

The person on the porch seemed fairly diminutive. I couldn't tell if it was a man or a woman. But I didn't know if they were armed or what have you, so I must admit I was a little bit nervous for a half hour or so. Now I'm left shrugging my shoulders. If nothing else, I'll start locking both doors at night from now on. There seem to be a lot of crazies out there these days.

You'd think the weirdness of the unexpected visitor would be a reason my sleep was so nonexistent, but I don't think so. It was just one of those nights where my brain stayed active. I thought about my ex, sang stupid songs stuck in my head that kept looping, tossed and turned. I felt like it was impossible to relax completely. Eventually I got up and played a video game for a couple hours. And by the time I went back to bed, I slept solidly for two hours before the dog barked and woke me up. After that, once again I was unable to relax.

Here I am at 10:27am. I guess I'll try going back to sleep again just for the hell of it, as I have nothing better to do. I don't even feel tired. But I'm stubborn.

I'll have to try to resurrect my photobucket account so I can post some photos here. I've got some I think are pretty good of the deer that live around here. They're so cute. Well, take care.


Silent Echo/Quiet Storm February 02, 2014

i'd be upset with someone knocking on my back door once and then hanging out in the back yard. i'd be calling the police so they could find out what that person was doing there. it's hard to shut your mind off sometimes. hope you sleep better tonight. take care,

WildflowerHeart February 02, 2014

That would creep me out a little bit. Can't wait to see pics! =)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.