A Few Sentences for your Friday in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Dec. 15, 2017, 9:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

(1) I picked up 7.9 billable hours yesterday. That is entirely due to Chinese Boss agreeing to pay me 4 hours for any Legal Aid Day… provided I do something with those 4 hours that would work to advertise the firm. So… would NOT be surprised if she reduced that. But hey… 7.9 hours is the closest I’ve yet come to being paid what I actually worked.

(2) I spoke with my father and mother yesterday. I hadn’t had a good chat with them since before my Davenport Interview so I caught them up on everything.
A: They agree that the Davenport thing was weird. Advertising for one position but interviewing for a different one is… unorganized at best.
B: They think that my skepticism about the Consumer Advocacy Board is justified but encouraged me that I might be surprised. If the office has always had a specific kind of person in it, they might choose me just to shake up their ranks a bit.
C: The ACA job I interviewed for Wednesday? We all want me to get it. Dad even said, “I hope this is the break you and (Wife) have deserved for so long. It sounds like the job is exactly what you went to law school for, exactly what you liked doing in Tiny Town, and a heckuva lot better environment than where you are now. And (Wife) will be surprised how much she falls in love with (City) if you get it. I’ve never known anyone who lived in (City) and didn’t absolutely love it.” We went over the questions I was asked and the answers I gave. I haven’t done that with my father since I was in High School, and I could tell he was impressed with my interview acumen. So… it goes to Fate now. I interviewed well. I am qualified for the position. I was relaxed and jovial with my interview panel. I stressed my focus on Community, Professionalism, and Integrity. I supported that, yes I do have more experience than required for the job but, no the job wouldn’t be boring as I’d never worked for such a large Firm. It just now rests with the decision of 3 men… and to see if any of the (likely 20 plus) interviewees do outstandingly better than I.

“Accept the things to which fate binds you, and love the people with whom fate brings you together, but do so with all your heart.” - Marcus Aurelius who was Roman emperor from 161 to 180, ruling jointly with Lucius Verus until Verus’ death in 169 and jointly with his son, Commodus, from 177. He was the last of the so-called Five Good Emperors.

alt text

(3) Prepare for the worst but hope for the best; so I am trying to train my body (again) to wake up early. A difficult thing to do, but a necessary one. Especially with bullshit like next week. Monday Morning, I have a hearing at 9. Except the hearing takes place 127 miles away. So I need to leave my house at 6:30 a.m. and drive two hours to be there on time then drive two hours back and put in as close to a full work day as possible. THEN Tuesday, I have to spend in a Branch location 50 miles away. So another hour drive up and hour drive back. Wednesday and Thursday, I have appointments with DHS for clients. JUST that little bit there? That is 500 miles of driving. Yet another thing highlighting why it would be nice to work for a COUNTY thereby allowing me to stay (at the very least) in the same part of the STATE!

(4) The above being stated, I was the first in the office. Beating all other employees by a wide margin. Then I looked at the Firm’s Calendar and saw that Chinese Boss would be in our Iowa City branch all day. I could literally feel my body relax. Hadn’t realized it had been tenser until that moment. But seeing that Chinese Boss wouldn’t be here? Instantly made me feel better. That says something. That says something important. About her, about me, and about this job. I suppose it is more reminder that… as much as I tell myself I can weather this job and deal with it, whatever happens… on some level, I know that I still want/need to get out of here. I still want/need to get to a place that is run better, has a larger staff, allows me to practice LAW instead of practice desperately trying to keep Chinese Criminals in the United States. So… I suppose… I can’t say it enough… fingers crossed for ACA.

(5) Truly terrible, evil thing to say… but… the ACA Panel said they wanted to start getting back to people on Thursday, December 21. I believe in signs and omens, even if I can’t decipher them all the time. Thursday, December 21st is the Office Bonne Chance party for Chinese Assistant who is leaving the firm. I take that as a “stacked omen.” Meaning… it is really tempting to see those dates line up and think that means ACA Panel will call offering me the job so that the Bonne Chance party for Chinese Assistant doubles as my “I’m Finally Getting My Chance” Day 1. BUT it is brutal to think that, thus why I call it stacked. Because if, on that day, I get the call that “There were so many qualified candidates and we appreciate your interest but we have selected someone else”.... that will make the whole thing more devastating. Frankly, I’d rather NOT get a call until after Christmas if the answer is no. SO here’s the humor:
Scenario 1: I receive a Phone Call on Thursday, December 21st offering me a position. I fight to restrain my joy and switch to professional mode which involves asking about Pay, Benefits, Contract Signing, and Conflict Check processes. I then attend the Bonne Chance party with a gigantic shit eating grin, joyful beyond comprehension; before returning home to pen a resignation letter. BEST. CHRISTMAS PRESENT. EVER.
Scenario 2: I receive a Phone Call on Thursday, December 21st offering me condolences. I maintain a stiff upper lip, thank them for informing me, and ask a follow up question as to “How can I improve my chances of being hired by other Prosecutors?” I then attend the Bonne Chance party in a terribly foul mood, dark clouds ever looming. I return home after stopping at the Liquor Store. DRUNKEST. CHRISTMAS. EVER.
Scenario 3: No Phone Calls come in before Christmas. I am called the following Thursday, December 28th and offered a position. I fight to restrain my joy and switch to professional mode which involves asking about Pay, Benefits, Contract Signing, and Conflict Check processes. I then immediately begin drafting my resignation letter and preparing my case withdrawals. I call several friends and inquire about an impromptu New Years/Celebration party.
Scenario 4: No Phone Calls come in before Christmas. I am called the following Thursday, December 28th and offered condolences. I fight to restrain my disappointment and tears, thank them for informing me, and ask a follow up question as to “How can I improve my chances of being hired by other Prosecutors?” I try to continue my work but I am fairly useless for the rest of the day. I forego purchases of Champagne for New Years and stock up on Whiskeys; ready to ring in the New Year with a mad drunk on singing Irish Dirges.

(6) Here’s something I haven’t said in a while but I still mean. I AM SORRY that I have been so poorly at leaving notes and catching up with folks. I read when I can, stealing reads while waiting for court or waiting for an appointment. But, especially working a job that now requires I inform them about EVERY. SINGLE. MINUTE.... I don’t even get the chance to go to the bathroom without needing to bloody report it. And the extensive hours (and travel) these Bastards demand mean I’m not exactly able to catch up at the end of the night. It is my hope that, should I get the ACA job, my reading and writing will improve. I’ll be able to write in my Intellectual Book again. I’ll be able to finish some Naughty Stories I’d been working on. I’ll be able to read Prosebox instead of just trying to quickly shout a bunch of words into the void before vanishing. Another thing I’d love to look forward to. I truly have missed writing from an intellectual perspective. Especially THIS YEAR with everything going on (from Roy Moore to Net Neutrality to Disney Buying Fox… just so much more in the world than my freaking job).

So… that’s where I am right now.

In short… if you consider yourself a prayer, a guru, a positive influence, or whatever… I’d really like to get this ACA job.
alt text


Last updated December 15, 2017


stargazing December 15, 2017

Sending positive vibes your way!

Always Laughing December 16, 2017

fingers crossed

caramelchicken December 27, 2017

Still keeping my fingers crossed for you for this job, hoping you'll get a call tomorrow offering you the job x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.