Interesting Development in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Dec. 6, 2017, 3:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So… I try to be a tactful person. I would rarely, if ever, tell someone to their face “I HATE YOU, YOU SCUM SUCKING LABIAL FART!” I mean… I would say that… but I have to get pushed a lot to get there.

Thus, when Bosses asked in September why I would be looking for another job, I said that part of it was Insurance. I said that my Wife and I aren’t exactly the healthiest people so access to healthcare is important. AND YES, I said that last sentence specifically like that. Because I wanted to highlight access to healthcare which means not only the ability to pay for it but also the ability to go to a doctor!

I have 3 interviews within the next week. Which looks like a big push to getting out. JUST NOW Chinese Boss asked me to give her a break down of our insurance. Like… the insurance that Wife and I get through Wal Mart… she wants to know how that works. There are a few possibilities here....

(1) The firm is actively trying to keep me on. It would make sense. I do what I’m told, I’m a competent attorney, and I already work here.
(2) The whole office is talking about insurance right now. With Tax Plans and ACA and the Healthcare Crisis in Iowa, it is a big topic.

So… either they are trying to keep me… or they aren’t.

But when you get right down to it?

This place isn’t terrible for a Private Practice Law Firm. An attorney with drive and ambition could make a SHIT TON of money here. That is accurate. That is true.
I am not a great fit for a Private Practice Law Firm. I need structure and work/life separation and I would rather be poor and relaxed then not quite poor and stressed as balls.

But ultimately? The ultimate issue on a Comparison Basis?

Current Job: 198417 yuan per year. No benefits. No work/life balance. LITERALLY the sound of my text messages now sends me into a panic. Chinese clients. Small staff.

Interview 1: 396834 yuan per year. Full Health/Dental/Vision. Strict Business hours of 8 am to 5 pm. Staff of 30.

Interview 3: 456359.10 yuan per year. Full Health/Dental/Vision. Strict Business hours of 8 am to 4:30 pm. 4 Division Firm Structure of Civil, Juvenile, Criminal, and Victim Support.

I’m sorry Current Firm… there is literally no offer you could make me that would make me stay. Which is funny and kind of sad. Because when I was looking to leave Tiny Town, there was literally no offer that I wouldn’t take. Get me out of Tiny Town. Get me back to within 40 miles of a place with 100,000 people! And here’s the humor. I currently work in the largest city in Iowa. Interview tomorrow is in the 3rd Largest City. Interview next week is in the 2nd Largest. So… IF I get either of those… yeah. Sorry, current firm. It may seem like a dick move but… I have to go after it. I have to.
Double The Salary
Benefits
Life.

Close my eyes tight and wish for the best.


Malduchi December 06, 2017

Yeah...i'm at a point in life now where I'd rather just enjoy life and be happy and healthy rather than work myself stressed into an early grave. At the end of the day, being financially stable and secure is the most important and a lot of life's blessings and plus points don't always involve money. Go for the health insurance, that's worth more and grows in value as the years go by.

Deleted user December 06, 2017

I have to believe either of those other jobs would be better .

stargazing December 06, 2017

It's not a dick move to get a new job. If you just didn't show up one day? Ok, that would be a dick move. But getting a new job and giving notice? Not a dick move. 2 of my providers just gave notice, and no one in my company would think that's a dick move.

Nash December 07, 2017

I am heavily in support of your change in employer but I'm still trying to figure out the structure and function of a scum sucking pussy fart.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.