Better Watch Out in Adventures in paradise

  • Dec. 5, 2017, 9:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ergh, just wrote a big entry and lost the friggin thing, so here goes again.

My actual birthday was pretty uneventful. I woke up with a slight hangover and felt the need to just have a shower and get some greasey food into me, stat. My housemate Kurt was up cleaning the floors like he does every Monday (best housemate ever!) before I wake up, but the last few weeks, I’ve been up early and having to walk over the freshly cleaned floors, which probably annoys him to no end lol. There was no way I was going without that shower and food yesterday though.

Today I treated myself to a movie binge at the el cheapo South Bank cinemas over the river. I just booked online because the booking fee was only 40cents. So much cheaper than other places, plus it was cheap Tuesday anyway. I just got some snacks when I was there. I was going to see three movies, but opted for just the two and with the spare time, I went to the gym instead. One of my gym-crushes was there again and he asked me if he could use some of the weights on my machine (that’s the second time now so I’m convinced he wants me as much as I want him LOL. I have a few gym-crushes though so he’s got some competition.)
The first movie I saw was “Wonder” which was just amazing. Such a feel-good film and I left there with a smile on my face. I thought I might have time to grab something nutritious to eat between movies, but there wasn’t much time at all (only like 20 minutes) so I just ordered hot food from the cinema and took it in. It was a sweet-chilli chicken tender combo, which probz wasn’t healthy at all but man it was tasty enough. The second movie I saw was a horror-comedy Christmas movie called “Better Watch Out” (clever title now that I think about it.)
But man, what a FUCKED-UP movie that was . Like, holy shit hahaha. It was quite funny, which I love, but there were a few times there where the crowd even gasped. I found myself laughing at how unbelievable the scene was hahaha, but I was the only one. I love that the Aussie actor kid who was in “Paper Planes” was in it too. The last kinda fucked-up Xmas movie I saw was “Krampus” but this was especially fucked lol.

I almost booked flights and accom in Canberra for Wednesday and Thursday this week, because I figured same-sex marriage will pass in Australia this week, and how cool would it be to actually be there when it happens! But I had all these tabs open and the cost just worked out to be too much. What they want for flights was just crazy and I kinda of justified it by just wanting to stay in hostel accommodation so it wouldn’t be so bad, but even then I was looking at like $650 from mainly the flights, so I just closed all the tabs and told myself that I would probably just be bored listening to policians ramble on anyway, especially with all this religious protection bullshit they are trying to amend into it. The Australian people voted ‘Yes’ or ‘No’ to marriage equality, not all of this other bullshit. And if they dragged it out until Friday, travelling down there would have been a waste of time and money anyway since I have to be back here in Brisbane for a concert I’m attending on Friday night, and then I’m on my Goldy trip from Saturday, which I am sooooooo looking forward to. I used to do those trips all the time but it feels like years since I last did one. I’ll probs just beach and spa most of it. Peter said he’ll probably come down on Sunday night, since I invited him, so that’ll give me a little bit of company, even though I mostly like time alone. Heck, I loved not having company in the cinema.
So I’ve decided just to get excited from home. I’ll get to Canberra one day!


Fawkes Gal December 05, 2017

Sounds like a it was a fun, "treat yo'self!" kind of a birthday! Good on you! :-)

-.Just.Keep.Swimming.- December 05, 2017

I so badly want to see "Wonder"!!!

happy belated birthday!!!

aussie_powers December 05, 2017

I saw wonder. brillant

aussie_powers December 05, 2017

I saw wonder. brillant

aussie_powers December 05, 2017

I saw wonder. brillant

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.