Writing in meh...

  • Dec. 2, 2017, 2:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I want to start writing poetry again. Problem with that is that I can’t find metaphors to mask how I feel. I’ve been out of the game too long. Since I found freeform I don’t rhyme very well anymore. I know I am angry and I know writing and singing are therapeutic. If I force it, it will seem forced to me. I’m a realist when I write. It’s raw and unabridged and unhinged.


Deleted user December 02, 2017

Maybe if you should just start, and let it feel forced. Let it be what it is, even if it isn't good. And after a while, it won't feel forced.

Sister Deleted user ⋅ December 02, 2017

Hmm...

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes December 02, 2017

I'm that way as well. I can write 5 poems a month or 1 poem a year. I only ever write when something needs to come out. I never sit and try to write; if I do, it'll sound contrived.

Sister Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ December 02, 2017

I haven't written for real in about 5 years.
Even when I think it sucks, others eat it up and I look at it and say Ugh...

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Sister ⋅ December 02, 2017

Yup, I've had that happen to me too. I've thrown away a lot of poetry over the years. But when I do write, it happens quickly.

Sometimes in poems I don't like, that I haven't trashed; there's a line that I do like and I'll rescue that and put it in something new.

Sister Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ December 05, 2017

Yeah. I have tons of stuff around. Like I was in the restroom at work today.
I let my eyes go out of focus and looked at the floor. From that came:
"Looking with abstract eyes, I see many things, yet to put my finger on them causes a loss of focus..."

Back in the day I could have done something amazing with that, but that's all I have. And I'll most likely never go back to it.

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes Sister ⋅ December 08, 2017

See, I think that's amazing.

Writing is different for me. Things don't come to me like that. It always stems from an emotional place, deep seeded pang; often depression or more to the point depressive episodes. It would be a rare occasion if ever I write something outside of those parameters.

Gilraent December 03, 2017

I really like Free's Idea.
If you haven't look for Button Poetry on facebook. :) Just because.

Sister Gilraent ⋅ December 05, 2017

:-)

Gilraent Sister ⋅ December 05, 2017

It bothers me that I left out a comma. lol omg I'm really bad today with the OCD. And look up Neil Hilborn, just because. His poetry really strikes a nerve in me.

Sister Gilraent ⋅ December 05, 2017

lol..
Thank you. I will.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.