Now in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Nov. 28, 2017, 2:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Now that I’ve scheduled my interview, spoken with my parents, and told my bosses “I need the morning off next Thursday. I’m not telling you why. If you don’t like it, piss off.” I’m actually a little excited.

Returning to Prosecution.
Working with a TEAM. A literal, actual TEAM. I know my current firm said they believed in Team Work but you’ve got two bosses and me… how much of a team can that be, really? As opposed to a staff of 33.
NOT being required to drive all over the fucking state. THAT will be nice. I could actually stay in the same city for an entire week!! I’m not exaggerating, by the way. Pretty much since I’ve been with my current firm, I’ve been required to go to a different city at least once a week… usually more… and not just “pop next door” but like “drive a couple hundred miles.”
NOT being required to work for free on the weekends.
Actually being paid for my time and receiving health benefits.
Having a reliable, regular schedule that I can make plans around.
OOooo… I hadn’t even considered this last thing… this office probably has a Vacation/Sick Leave package that operates like a real business.

As my dad said, “Put on your own oxygen mask before assisting others.” That has never been a lesson I’ve learned. True story. It comes from too much Christ, too much Superman, too much Batman, too much Wolverine, too much Spider-Man, and too much heart. To be CHRISTIAN means to be Christ-Like. To be Christ-Like means loving others even unto death. John 15:13, “Greater love has no other than this, he that would lay down his life for his friends.” John 3:16, “For God so loved the world that he gave his only son that whoever shall believe in him shall not perish but gain everlasting life.” Ephesians 5:25, “Husbands love your wives as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her.” So I’ve never quite gotten the whole “Self Preservation” perspective. I’ve always gotten the “sacrifice yourself for others” perspective. But that being said… I can convince myself that it is time now.

While we were in Omaha, starting DAY ONE, Wife was asking “When are we moving back to Iowa.”
When we moved back to Iowa, starting DAY ONE, Wife was asking “When are we moving to a bigger city.”
When we moved back to Iowa’s Biggest City, starting DAY THREE, Wife was saying how everything in her life is miserable because of this wal-mart where she is working.

While we were in Omaha, I loved it there. If I hadn’t been “we have to leave” I could have made more friends (I’m still making friends there, actually) and had deeper social connections.
When we moved back to Iowa, Tiny Town sucked. I’m not going to sugar coat that. A city smaller than my High School is… hard to adjust to!
When we moved back to Iowa’s Biggest City, increasing more and more… this job was proving to be a bad fit. Shitty hours, demanding bosses, poor pay, no health care… it was a bad fit.

So… we left Omaha for Wife, we left Tiny Town for both of us… maybe leaving Des Moines for me is acceptable. Maybe it is my turn.


The nerdy princess November 28, 2017

I so understand where your coming from! i'm a paralegal and at my last job with my firm (1 lawyer) I had to drive everywhere to file/pick up paperwork, no paid millage and I always did my social security cases on weekends for FREE.....

good luck!

p.s. I grew up in grundy center....than moved to parkersburg before that EF5 tornado hit years ago..... but sadly moved to Pennsylvania .....I loved iowa!!!!!

Park Row Fallout The nerdy princess ⋅ November 29, 2017

Sounds like my extended family! Grew up in Iowa, moved to Pennsylvania, then moved to California. Can't blame them. Iowa is great but the coasts are also awesome :)

Tempestuous1 November 28, 2017

Always Laughing November 29, 2017

It is your turn

Deleted user December 04, 2017

It is !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.