SEEKING ADVICE in Book Four: Ichi-no-Tani 2017

  • Nov. 27, 2017, 8:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

One of the County Attorney positions I applied to called me back.
This one? Far East Iowa. On the Mississippi River.
Putting me 2.5 hours away from my family.
Putting us 2 hours away from Wife’s family.

THE POSITIVES FOR ME
The County Attorney’s Office employs 16 attorneys and 17 members of its support staff. That would be an incredible increase from Tiny Town and even an incredible increase from my current Firm. It would be a Government Job, so that would mean full time hours being paid as full time. It would be double my current salary and provide benefits.

THE NEGATIVES FOR ME
It would remove me from my friends and family. Granted, lots of people don’t live in the city where they have friends and family… and those people go on to make new friends in their new environments. But this is something worth considering. Also a negative? Moving hours away again. I mean, we moved all of our belongings 3 hours away in April. Moving all of our belongings 3 hours away again so soon just seems… masochistic.

THE POSITIVES FOR WIFE
She could quit Wal Mart. Or go back to Part Time if she wanted to. She could attend a community college and go after whatever it is she thinks she needs to go after. But ultimately, she’d be free of Wal Mart unless she decided to stay. It would no longer be something that she felt she had to do.

THE NEGATIVES FOR WIFE
She likes where we are. Hates her life/job. But she enjoys that she has friends and family nearby. Most importantly? She likes her therapist. She is making some real progress with her mental health. Pulling her away from that could be a bad thing.

Ultimately… I think I’d be fine either way. This job or not. Because… my current job? Not great; but even if I lost it, I’m not out much. But my current location? Great. If I lost it, I’m out a lot. This possible job? Could be shitty or could be great. The location is a great size and there is definite potential but… I’m just not sure.

Thus the request for assistance.

Also… if I went to this interview… I would have to take some time off of work. And the bosses, as we all know, would absolutely flip their shit about me taking time off of work… especially if it was to interview for another job.


Nash November 27, 2017

Take it. Few negatives and what negative exist are fixable.

holli3 November 27, 2017

Take it
You'll always wonder if you dont.

Tempestuous1 November 27, 2017

I say take it if offered. The positives outweigh the negatives. She'd have less of a need for a therapist, at least as often my guess is, if her life is more enjoyable. You deserve it. I know it's cliche, but it can't be worse than what you do now. Good luck with whatever you choose!

Foofah November 27, 2017

Take the interview and then decide during that time and discuss it with your wife. If offered the position, you can always decline it, but you don't want to regret not even going on the interview.

stargazing November 28, 2017

At the very least, take the interview....get a feel for the people. In order to get a new job, you are going to have to take time off of work. So if you never do it, you'll never be able to get a new job. I would not tell them you are interviewing though.

Pretend Mulling November 28, 2017

Definitely take it, if it's offered. As others have already said, the positives outweigh the negatives, and the negatives it would create are easily compensated for or fixed.

Good luck!

Sarasyn November 28, 2017

It sounds like this could be so good for both you and your wife. Having read a few of your other posts in the past few days it sounds like the two of you really need something to change if your relationship is going to get any better. This might just be the change you need.

Deleted user November 28, 2017

I say, go for it!!!

Skikkles911 November 28, 2017

Pretty sure everyone said it. This job is way of an improvement. One of the reasons your wife is miserable is because of Walmart and if she could get away from that and improve her life.... probably a therapist won't be as necessary yeah?

Always Laughing November 29, 2017

At least take it and see if you get offered it then decide

Deleted user December 04, 2017

If it’s offered, take it !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.